There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Alpha Girls

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

JULIAN GUTHRIE spent 20 years writing for the San Francisco Chronicle, where she won numerous awa... Read More

Product Description

JULIAN GUTHRIE spent 20 years writing for the San Francisco Chronicle, where she won numerous awards, including the Society of Professional Journalists Public Service Award and the Best of the West Award. Her writing has been nominated multiple times for the Pulitzer Prize. She is the author of three nonfiction books: The Grace of Everyday Saints, The Billionaire and the Mechanic, and How to Make a Spaceship.

A Financial Times Summer Book of 2019

'The addictive stories of four incredible women who did things their own way and rewrote the code of a whole industry' Emerald Street

Described as 'the book that the world needs right now' (Adam Fisher, author of Valley of Genius), Alpha Girls is perfect for fans of Hidden Figures, Lean In and The Social Network.


Silicon Valley has long been at the forefront of innovation, but it is renowned for its archaic sexist culture. Alpha Girls is the unforgettable story how a group of talented women achieved success in a tech world run by 'bro-grammers' through sheer grit and determination. Despite the instrumental role they played in building some of the foremost companies of our time, these women have been written out of history - until now. In Alpha Girls, award-winning writer Julian Guthrie reveals their untold stories.

*Magdalena Yesil who arrived in America from Turkey with $43 to her name and would go on to help Marc Benioff build Salesforce.
*Mary Jane Elmore - one of the first women in the United States to make partner at a venture capital firm.
*Theresia Gouw, who helped land and build companies including Facebook, Trulia, Imperva and ForeScout.
*Sonja Hoel, the first woman investing partner at Menlo Ventures who invested in McAfee, Hotmail, Acme Packet and F5 Networks as well as founding an all-women's investment group and a national nonprofit for girls.

These women, juggling work and family, shaped the tech landscape we know today while overcoming unequal pay, actual punches, betrayals and the sexist attitudes prevalent in Silicon Valley. Despite the setbacks, they would rise again to rewrite the rules for an industry they love.

The unforgettable story of four women who, through grit and ingenuity, became stars in the cutthroat, high-stakes, male-dominated world of venture capital in Silicon Valley and helped build some of the foremost companies of our time.

In Alpha Girls, award-winning journalist Julian Guthrie takes readers behind the closed doors of venture capital, an industry that transforms economies and shapes how we live. We follow the lives and careers of four women who were largely written out of history - until now.

Magdalena Yesil arrived in America from Turkey with $43 to her name and would go on to help Marc Benioff build Salesforce.
Mary Jane Elmore went from the cornfields of Indiana to Stanford and on to the storied venture capital firm IVP - where she was one of the first women in the United States to make partner.
Theresia Gouw, an overachieving first-generation Asian American from a working-class town, helped land and build companies including Facebook, Trulia, Imperva and ForeScout.
Sonja Hoel, the first woman investing partner at Menlo Ventures, invested in McAfee, Hotmail, Acme Packet and F5 Networks as well as founding an all-women's investment group and a national nonprofit for girls.

These women, juggling work and family, shaped the tech landscape we know today while overcoming unequal pay, actual punches, betrayals and the sexist attitudes prevalent in Silicon Valley. Despite the setbacks, they would rise again to rewrite the rules for an industry they love. Alpha Girls reveals their untold stories.

Silicon Valley has long been at the forefront of innovation, but it is renowned for its archaic sexist culture. Alpha Girls is the inspiring story of how a group of talented women have achieved success in a tech world run by 'bro-grammers' through sheer grit and determination.A revelatory, riveting journey into a part of Silicon Valley's history that has been overshadowed for far too long. Through vivid prose and artful story-telling, Julian Guthrie brings to life the nuanced tales of the struggles and successes of women in the technology industry

Julian Guthrie is a mesmerizing storyteller, weaving the life stories of four dynamic women into a page-turning yarn. We don't just read of but feel the outrageous and often clueless male slights and insults, the double standards and blatant sexism endured by women in the blustery, male-dominated world of Silicon Valley. Yet Alpha Girls leaves you awed by their resilience and their professional feats. A stirring tale of triumph

An extremely important addition to the literary canon of Silicon Valley, told through the honest and specific stories of a handful of individual women. Beautifully doneThe women of Alpha Girls had to grow some thick skin to survive and succeed. And succeed they did. Alpha Girls will reshape how you look at women in finance. A must read for women and girls interested in changing the worldThe story of four women who entered the tech industry to follow their dreams and managed through hard work and creativity to make those dreams come true. I'm glad Julian has written this book; we need to tell the success stories of women in techIf you read one book about women in business, Alpha Girls should be the one. Julian Guthrie has written another dazzlerJulian Guthrie is the best author writing about Silicon Valley today, and Alpha Girls is the book that the world needs right now. It's the real story behind the largest legal creation of wealth in the history of the planet. If you are a woman who works, or simply work with women, Alpha Girls is essential readingAn intimate and addictive homage to the fearless female pioneers who made Silicon Valley blossom. Julian's vivid portrayals of once-hidden risk takers and mavericks will leave you heartbroken, hopeful and hungering for moreFinally, it's here: a book about Silicon Valley as seen through the accomplishments of the powerful women who, against all odds, made their mark there. Alpha Girls offers an inside look at the true meaning of grit and drive and upends the myth that it is only men who create and build tech companies. For any young woman in search of a role model, or any young man too, Alpha Girls is a must readAlpha Girls is about four women in a high-stakes, high-drama world. Each of these women's stories is gripping, treacherous and heroic. They are being pulled out from behind the gender curtain and given their rightful place in contemporary historyOnce I started reading Alpha Girls, I couldn't put it down. The story of these VC women trailblazers must be told, and Julian tells it brilliantly. The book stimulates reflections on how we must accelerate changes in ourselves, at home, and in the workplaceSwot up on how the women of Silicon Valley crushed it in the land of the 'tech bros'Alpha Girls thrillingly follows the addictive stories of four incredible women who did things their own way and rewrote the code of a whole industryThrough a series of meticulously detailed portraits . . . Guthrie writes a revisionist history of America's second Gold Rush - one in which women are the protagonists and money-makers . . . Alpha Girls is crammed with details that bring events and situations alive . . . Underpinning it all is a tone of relentless optimism

Product Details

Title: Alpha Girls
Author: Julian Guthrie
SKU: BK0437526
EAN: 9780349420257
Language: English
Binding: Paperback

About Author

JULIAN GUTHRIE spent 20 years writing for the San Francisco Chronicle, where she won numerous awards, including the Society of Professional Journalists Public Service Award and the Best of the West Award. Her writing has been nominated multiple times for the Pulitzer Prize. She is the author of three nonfiction books: The Grace of Everyday Saints, The Billionaire and the Mechanic, and How to Make a Spaceship.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed