There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Black Drop

₹ 699

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Leonora Nattrass studied eighteenth-century literature and politics, and spent ten years as an En... Read More

Product Description

Leonora Nattrass studied eighteenth-century literature and politics, and spent ten years as an English Literature lecturer, including eight at Nottingham Trent University. During this time she published several works on William Cobbett, and was a reviewer for <i>The Year's Work in English Studies</i> journal. She then moved to Cornwall, where she lives in a seventeenth-century house with seventeenth-century draughts, and spins the fleeces of her traditional Ryeland sheep into yarn. <i>Black Drop </i>is her first novel. Viper will publish the sequel charting Laurence Jago's adventures at sea, <i>Blue Water</i>, in 2022.<p><b>***<i>SUNDAY TIMES</i> BOOK OF THE MONTH***</b><br>***<b>ONE OF <i>THE</i> <i>TIMES</i> BEST HISTORICAL FICTION BOOKS OF 2021***</b><br><b><br>'One of the best debuts of the year' - <i>THE TIMES</i></b><br><b>'As nimbly realised as by the genre's master, Andrew Taylor' - <i>FINANCIAL TIMES</i><br>'<i>Black Drop</i> is a joy from start to finish' - ANDREW TAYLOR</b><br><b><br>This is the confession of Laurence Jago. Clerk. Gentleman. Reluctant spy.</b><br><br>July 1794, and the streets of London are filled with rumours of revolution. Political radical Thomas Hardy is to go on trial for treason, the war against the French is not going in Britain's favour, and negotiations with the independent American colonies are on a knife edge.<br><br>Laurence Jago - clerk to the Foreign Office - is ever more reliant on the Black Drop to ease his nightmares. A highly sensitive letter has been leaked to the press, which may lead to the destruction of the British Army, and Laurence is a suspect. Then he discovers the body of a fellow clerk, supposedly a suicide.<br><br>Blame for the leak is shifted to the dead man, but even as the body is taken to the anatomists, Laurence is certain both of his friend's innocence, and that he was murdered. But after years of hiding his own secrets from his powerful employers, and at a time when even the slightest hint of treason can lead to the gallows, how can Laurence find the true culprit without incriminating himself?<br><br><b>A thrilling historical mystery, perfect for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor, Antonia Hodgson and Laura Shepherd-Robinson.</b><br><br><b>'This opium-fuelled gem is a murderous romp' - JANICE HALLETT</b><br><b>'A thrilling slice of pitch-dark historical fiction' - EMMA STONEX</b><br><b> 'A gripping, intricate story of Georgian high politics' - W.C. RYAN</b></p><b>An atmospheric and brilliantly plotted historical thriller set in London during the uproar of the French Revolution</b><b>A fine debut that weaves the complex politics of 18th-century Britain into a gripping murder mystery</b><b>Excellent... Moving between high politics and the city's meaner streets, and filled with memorable characters, <i>Black Drop </i>offers first-class entertainment</b><b>Historical crime fiction set in a teeming late eighteenth-century London, as nimbly realised as by the genre's master, Andrew Taylor. Foreign office clerk Laurence Jago is a reluctant spy involved in arcane skulduggery</b><b><i>Black Drop</i> is a joy from start to finish. I particularly liked the glimpses of the grubby machinery of government from the inside, giving a real sense of the intrigues behind closed doors. Jago is a very sympathetic hero, with all his flaws, virtues and secrets, and Philpott made me want to smile and cheer</b><b>A strikingly assured and intelligent first novel about power, conspiracy and the lengths to which the influential will go to ensure their survival. Nattrass is confident enough in her knowledge of the period to avoid loading her narrative with explanations</b><b>Foreign Office clerk Laurence Jago has been accused of being a traitor, but when a colleague dies, blame shifts. Thrilling</b><b>This opium-fuelled gem is a murderous romp through the tangled roots of British democracy</b><b>A gripping, intricate story of Georgian high politics and low life. Leonora Nattrass's historical spy novel is top notch</b><b>A riveting political thriller, set at a fulcrum-point in global history. The setting is viscerally immersive and the characters spring to life from the page. This masterful narrative of deception, intrigue and heroism unfolds with compelling pace, wry humour and acute psychological observation. Gripping, moving and utterly engaging</b><b>A thrilling slice of pitch-dark historical fiction, led by a superbly engaging narrator. Entertaining and deftly written, this gripping tale of murder and treachery on the smouldering streets of eighteenth-century London deserves to be huge</b><b>Nattrass writes so beautifully. Absolutely compelling, and so atmospheric I felt I was there, following Jago around the mean streets of eighteenth-century London</b><b>Lovers of historical thrillers have a treat in store. A splendid twisting tale of murder and espionage at the political heart of Georgian Britain</b><b>In <i>Black Drop</i> Leonora Nattrass has done that most dangerous thing: allowed fictional characters to mingle with real ones. I'm far too cowardly to do that in my writing, but she has pulled it off. Well written and well constructed, and Jago is a character readers will certainly want to follow</b><b>A sparkling evocation of a distant time which is remarkably similar to the current one. I loved it. The sights, smells and eccentricities of eighteenth-century Britain are so perfectly captured that if you'd told me this was one of Dickens' lost novels I'd have completely believed it. Other fictional worlds are going to seem a lot greyer in comparison</b><b>A wonderful, delicious treat of a book set in 1790s London. I was utterly transported to a world of political intrigue, spies and suspect deaths</b><b>Leonora Nattrass brings Georgian London vividly to life in a delectable dose of secrets, lies and sinister skullduggery. Take care not to swallow this tincture of intrigue in a single sitting!</b><b>A darkly atmospheric and utterly immersive tale. <i>Black Drop</i> is a thrilling, revolutionary ride through the coffee houses and committee rooms of a corrupt and fearful city. Grab your hat and pipe and keep your pistols at the ready!</b><b>Superb. Nattrass convincingly recreates eighteenth-century London as a backdrop for spies, murders, and a skilful blend of historic and imagined characters. Vivid and fast-paced, it's an impressive achievement, and hugely enjoyable</b><b>An astounding debut novel, written with style and confidence</b><b>Full of political intrigue and fascinating characters, this is a highly enjoyable read</b><b>A dark and intriguing historical thriller. So immersive and fantastically written!</b><b>A rip-roaringly good political thriller set in Georgian London</b>

Product Details

Title: Black Drop
Author: Leonora Nattrass
SKU: BK0454189
EAN: 9781788165921
Language: English
Binding: Paperback

About Author

Leonora Nattrass studied eighteenth-century literature and politics, and spent ten years lecturing in English and publishing works on William Cobbett. She then moved to Cornwall, where she lives in a seventeenth-century house with seventeenth-century draughts, and spins the fleeces of her traditional Ryeland sheep into yarn. <i>Black Drop </i>is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed