There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

Diary Of A Void

Release date: 10 August 2023
₹ 550

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions...... Read More

Product Description

For the sake of women everywhere, Ms Shibata is going to pull off the mother of all deceptions...

'Incredibly thought-provoking... you'll love Yagi's writing'
 STYLIST

Ms Shibata refuses to clear away the coffee at work one day, because she's pregnant and can't bear the smell. The only thing is . . . Ms Shibata is not pregnant.

Being a mother-to-be isn't easy. Ms Shibata has a nine-month ruse to keep up. Before long, it becomes all-absorbing, and with the help of towel-stuffed shirts and a diary app that tracks every stage of her 'pregnancy', the boundary between her lie and her life begins to dissolve.

Discover this prizewinning, thrillingly subversive new novel that's perfect for fans of Convenience Store Woman and Breasts and Eggs.

'A subversive, surreal read that will strike a cord' 
RED

'One of the most passionate cases I've ever read for female interiority, for women's creative pulse and rich inner life' 
NEW YORKER

Translated from the Japanese by David Boyd and Lucy North

 

Product Details

Title: Diary Of A Void
Author: Emi Yagi
Publisher: Vintage
SKU: BK0479533
EAN: 9781529114812
Number Of Pages: 176
Language: English
Binding: Paperback
Release date: 10 August 2023

About Author

Emi Yagi is an editor at a women's magazine in Japan. She was born in 1988 and lives in Tokyo. Diary of a Void is her first novel; it won the Osamu Dazai Prize, awarded annually to the best debut work of fiction.

Lucy North is a British translator of Japanese fiction and non-fiction. She has translated works by Taeko Kono, Hiromi Kawakami, Fumiko Enchi and Natsuko Imamura.

David Boyd is assistant professor of Japanese at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. He has translated fiction by Hiroko Oyamada and Hideo Furukawa, among others.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed