You have no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on All Products!


Release date: 8 June 2023
₹ 799

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request


As the sun sets on a feverishly hot July evening, a young woman spies on her teenage neighbour, t... Read More

Product Description

As the sun sets on a feverishly hot July evening, a young woman spies on her teenage neighbour, transfixed by what looks like an occult ritual intended to banish an ex-boyfriend.

Alone in a new town and desperate to expel the claustrophobic memories of her own ex that have followed, the narrator decides to try to hex herself free from her past. She falls in with the neighbour and her witchy friend, exploring nascent supernatural powers as the boundaries of reality shift in and out of focus. But when the creaks and hums of her apartment escalate into something more violent, she realizes that she may have brought her boyfriend's presence - whether psychological or paranormal - back to haunt her.

With astonishing emotional depth and clarity, 
Disturbance explores the fallout of abuse. Propulsive and wry, this razor-sharp debut twists witchcraft and horror into a powerful narrative of one woman's struggle to return to herself. This lyrical novel, which explores all the ways that relationships and trauma can haunt our lives and the lingering physical and psychological effects of abuse, is perfect for fans of Boy Parts and My Year of Rest and Relaxation. 

Jenna Clake


Product Details

Title: Disturbance
Author: Jenna Clake
Publisher: Trapeze / Orion Publishing Group / HACHETTE
SKU: BK0477917
EAN: 9781398712089
Number Of Pages: 224
Language: English
Binding: Paperback
Release date: 8 June 2023

About Author

Jenna Clake's debut collection of poetry, Fortune Cookie, won the Melita Hume prize in 2016, and was published in 2017 by Eyewear. It received an Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors in 2018 and was shortlisted for a Somerset Maugham Award in the same year. She was shortlisted for the inaugural Rebecca Swift Women Poets' Prize. Her poetry criticism has appeared in Poetry London, The Poetry School, and The Poetry Review. Her second collection Museum of Ice Cream was published by Bloodaxe and featured as one of The Telegraph's best new poetry books in 2021. She lectures in Creative Writing at Teesside University.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review

Recently viewed