There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Emil and the Detectives

₹ 199

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Don't know your habbo hotel from your moshi monster? Confused by puffles and club penguin? Enjoy ... Read More

Product Description

Don't know your habbo hotel from your moshi monster? Confused by puffles and club penguin? Enjoy some time away from the computer: revisit your childhood reading and share a wonderful classic story with your child.Vintage Children's Classics publish the best books in a beautiful, affordable and accessible styleGrowth of children's market: Office for National Statistics indicates an 11% growth in primary-aged children to 2026.Emil and the Detectives is a pacy mystery story of brave children outwitting grownups in 1930s Berlin. It will appeal to fans of Young Sherlock Holmes and Matilda."He was to Germany what Roald Dahl is to Britain. Both writers are able to compel children and engage their imaginations." Tom Maschler, ex-publisher of Jonathan CapeHas sold over 1.5million copies and translated into over 30 languagesIncludes original illustrationsExtra material includes: 'who's who' guide to characters, quiz about the book, author biog, test your detective powers, 'child power' suggestions for further reading.Erich Kästner was born in Dresden in 1899, the son of a saddle maker and a maidservant. He was drafted into the army in 1917, and his experiences there were to influence his later pacifism. He published Emil and the Detectives in 1928 to great success. A sequel, Emil and the Three Twins, appeared in 1933, but soon afterwards his books were labelled "contrary to the German spirit" and burned in public by the Nazis. He was interviewed by the Gestapo several times, but remained in Berlin until 1945, when he fled the city to avoid the Soviet assault. After the war he continued to write and remained committed to anti-war movements until his death in 1974.

'Password Emil!'

Emil is excited to be taking the train on his own for the first time. He doesn't like the look of his fellow passenger, the man in the bowler hat. Emil will just have to keep his wits about him and his money in his pocket. But Emil falls asleep and when he wakes up the man in the bowler hat is gone - and so is the money! Emil is determined to get it back. He teams up with a gang of young detectives and so begins a hair-raising chase across Berlin to catch the dirty rotten thief...

BACKSTORY: Learn all about the book's brave author and find out just how good a sleuth you would be.

This is a well-presented edition of a real classic, and I hope it helps it find the new audience it deservesBoth boys - me in 1955, my son in 1996 - seemed to be drawn into this story in some way beyond the usual...The main pleasure of the book is in the way in which it plays to the fantasy of omnipotence in a child: that a team of kids could really organise themselves into a team of detectives and catch a thiefA great political story: democracy in actionThe perfect introduction to the world of fictional crime detectionEmil is a wonder... the book had, and still has, the effect of making me feel part of Emil's little gang of boys... Emil and the Detectives is a little masterpiece... Read it and you will be happy

Product Details

Title: Emil and the Detectives
Author: Erich Kästner
SKU: BK0022491
EAN: 9780099572848
Language: English

About Author

Erich Kästner was born in Dresden in 1899, the son of a saddle maker and a maidservant. He was drafted into the army in 1917, and his experiences there were to influence his later pacifism. He published Emil and the Detectives in 1928 to great success. A sequel, Emil and the Three Twins, appeared in 1933, but soon afterwards his books were labelled "contrary to the German spirit" and burned in public by the Nazis. He was interviewed by the Gestapo several times, but remained in Berlin until 1945, when he fled the city to avoid the Soviet assault. After the war he continued to write and remained committed to anti-war movements until his death in 1974.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed