There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Framers

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

The authors’ previous book Big Data has sold nearly 2 million copies worldwide, won the National ... Read More

Product Description

The authors’ previous book Big Data has sold nearly 2 million copies worldwide, won the National Library of China’s Wenjin Book Award and was a finalist for the FT Business book of the year. Perfect for fans of Nate Silver (The Signal and Noise – over 50k TCM), Max Tegmark (Life 3.0 TCM over 40k) and Martin Ford’s Rise of the Robots (over 20k TCM).Clear and empowering human message and positive story of unique human talent in the face of the AI revolution, from a brilliant author combination – Oxford Digital Academic, Senior Editor at the Economist and a Business school professor – each opening a key market for the book.Foreign rights selling fast around the world: Complex Chinese, Dutch, Germany, Poland, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Germany, Russia, and Brazil have already gone, with many more deals expected. The Korean deal (book 21) and the Simplified Chinese deal (CITIC) were both six-figure pre-empts.Kenneth Cukier (Author)
Kenneth Cukier is a Senior Editor at The Economist, and host of its weekly tech podcast. He is also an associate fellow at Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford, researching artificial intelligence. His TED Talk on AI and society has over 2 million views. Kenn was a foreign correspondent for two decades in Europe, Asia and America and a research fellow at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government. He serves on the board of Chatham House and is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.

Viktor Mayer-Schoenberger (Author)
Viktor Mayer-Schönberger is Professor of Internet Governance and Regulation at the Oxford Internet Institute at Oxford University. He is also a faculty affiliate of the Belfer Center of Science and International Affairs at Harvard University. Viktor and his work have been featured in (among others) the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, The Economist, Nature, Science, BBC and Wired Magazine. He is also on the boards of foundations, think tanks and organizations focused on studying the information economy, and advises governments, businesses and NGOs on new economy and information society issues.

Francis de Vericourt (Author)
Francis de Véricourt is Professor of Management Science at the European School of Management and Technology (ESMT) in Berlin. His current research explores how machine learning affects the way individuals frame their decisions and give rise to incentive problems. He has lived and worked in France, USA, Germany and Singapore. He has given talks at Yale University, Wharton School of Business, London Business School, Cambridge University, Tsinghua University, Singapore National University and many others, and has been the recipient of multiple teaching awards.

A tightly written prescription for smart thinking... A bold call to reinject pluralism and progressive human values into a decision-making process dominated by algorithms or gut instinctA simply wonderful reimagining of human ingenuity. It will teach you to see around cornersReveals how you can recognize the lenses that you're applying ... an important read -- a steady hand for our turbulent timesA fascinating look at what makes humans special and how people can improve the way they think to stay ahead of the machinesA paean to cognitive agility and the elasticity of the imaginationPacked with big ideas, great stories, values and verve that make it a delight to read. It will certainly change how you think-and might just change the world tooA great book filled with fresh perspectives to help us out during the rise of AI so we can usher in the Age of HumanityA captivating read... Framers will transform the way you thinkBrilliantly shows that mental models are at the heart of creativity, critical thinking and innovation, and how we can get better at it to solve our toughest business and social challengesProvides insight into how we can all nurture more of a beginner's mind and manifest breakthrough ideas for building a better futureAn appealing pop-science guide to creativity [and] an astute analysis of problem-solvingHumans today live a much easier, more comfortable, and more pleasant existence than ever before, but we also face our greatest existential challenges as a species, and in order to survive we will need not only cooperation, but a new and diverse set of cognitive frames ... [this book] teaches us how to better frame things for ourselves as individuals


A Financial Times and Economist Book of the Year

'Wonderfully stimulating... will teach you to see around corners' - TIM HARFORD
'A paean to cognitive agility and the elasticity of the imagination' - ECOMOMIST
'Captivating... will transform the way you think' MARISSA KING, PROFESSOR AT YALE SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT



The power of mental models to make better decisions


We're often told that humans make bad decisions and that more data is better. But this is backwards: people are good at decisions precisely because we use mental models and can envision new realities outside of data. Great outcomes don't depend so much on the final moment of choosing but on generating better alternatives to choose between. That's framing. It's a cognitive muscle we can strengthen to improve our lives, work and future -- to meet this historical moment. Framers shows how.

Product Details

Title: Framers
Author: Kenneth CukierViktor Mayer-SchoenbergerFrancis de Vericourt
SKU: BK0457226
EAN: 9780753555002
Language: English

About Author

Kenneth Cukier is a Senior Editor at The Economist, and host of its weekly tech podcast. He is also an associate fellow at Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford, researching artificial intelligence. His TED Talk on AI and society has over 2 million views. Kenn was a foreign correspondent for two decades in Europe, Asia and America and a research fellow at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government. He serves on the board of Chatham House and is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.Viktor Mayer-Schönberger is Professor of Internet Governance and Regulation at the Oxford Internet Institute at Oxford University. He is also a faculty affiliate of the Belfer Center of Science and International Affairs at Harvard University. Viktor and his work have been featured in (among others) the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, The Economist, Nature, Science, BBC and Wired Magazine. He is also on the boards of foundations, think tanks and organizations focused on studying the information economy, and advises governments, businesses and NGOs on new economy and information society issues.Francis de Véricourt is Professor of Management Science at the European School of Management and Technology (ESMT) in Berlin. His current research explores how machine learning affects the way individuals frame their decisions and give rise to incentive problems. He has lived and worked in France, USA, Germany and Singapore. He has given talks at Yale University, Wharton School of Business, London Business School, Cambridge University, Tsinghua University, Singapore National University and many others, and has been the recipient of multiple teaching awards.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed