There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Humour, Seriously

₹ 699

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Hilarious and practical: Based on one of the most oversubscribed courses at Stanford Business Sch... Read More

Product Description

Hilarious and practical: Based on one of the most oversubscribed courses at Stanford Business School, Humour, Seriously will help readers (re)discover the power of humour and show them how to use it to be successful in the work environment.Highly-credentialed authors: Dr Jennifer Aaker is a behavioural psychologist and Naomi Bagdonas is a lecturer and a professionally trained comedian. They both deliver corporate workshops on humour and teach "Humour, Serious Business" one of the most popular classes on the Stanford MBA programme.Features wisdom from top CEOs and world class comedians: Shares the best tips from comic masters - like Seth Meyers and writers for The Onion - and distils the insights of leaders who are creating cultures of levity at companies like Twitter, Apple and IDEO.Ringing endorsements: including a foreword from Ed Catmull, co-founder of Pixar and bestselling author of Creativity, Inc, and an afterword from Michael Lewis, bestselling author of The Big Short.Concise, insightful and fun: this book is perfect for fans of The Charisma Myth by Olivia Fox Cabane (80k TCM) and How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie.

Dr Jennifer Aaker is a behavioural psychologist, author, and the General Atlantic Professor at Stanford Graduate School of Business. Her research focuses on the psychology of time and money and the choices driving lasting happiness. She teaches courses on innovation, the power of storytelling and purpose.

Naomi Bagdonas is a Stanford lecturer, a strategy and media consultant and a professionally trained comedian. Naomi has designed and facilitated innovation workshops and strategy offsites for the boards and leadership teams of Fortune 100 companies. She performs improv and sketch comedy in Los Angeles.

Humour is magical. It can make fear and pomposity vanish and creativity and resilience appear in their place. The ultimate guide to using the magical power of funny as a tool for leadership and a force for good, Humour, Seriously is an intoxicating mix of science, strategy, and slapstick - a knee-slapping, mind-expanding tour de forceA smart, funny, brilliant book on how to be smart about being funny, brilliantly. And I'm not just saying that because they say I am smart, funny, and brilliant in it. Buy itI've learned (often the hard way) that the best way to be taken seriously is to not take yourself too seriously. My teams are always at their best when approaching problems with levity, which entails both humility and optimism and always engenders trust. Plus, it's more fun - like this book!A sharp, incisive, and genuinely funny read. Humour, Seriously translates the knowledge of the world of comedy to tools that actually work in the world of businessIf you think your workplace would work better if everyone laughed more, this is your playbookI've always used humour as a secret weapon at Spanx. Jennifer and Naomi make a scientific case for the importance of humour and show it's an incredible way to connect with customers and build culture. This book will help anyone embrace the power of laughterHumour is an act of social courage that, when used correctly, has a transformative effect. Humour, Seriously gives us the tools we need to deploy humour expertly in any environmentEye-opening, hilarious, and absolutely original, Humour, Seriously will change the way you think on the job, about the world, and in your lifeOf all the known ways to ruin humour, the most common start with the words 'research,' 'analyze,' and 'professor.' The bad news is that this book features all of those words. Prominently. The good news is that against all odds, you'll actually have fun reading it. It probably won't turn you into Ali Wong, Dave Chappelle, or Hannah Gadsby, but it will give you a much deeper appreciation of how they think-and teach you some new ways to make people laughIn this eye-opening, important and utterly enjoyable book, Jennifer Aaker and Naomi Bagdonas use science to explain how humour at work (and in life) helps alleviate stress, anxiety, and burnout. Come for the humour, stay for the insightsIf this book and Brad Pitt walked into a bar, and I could only pick one, I'd take the book home with meJennifer Aaker and Naomi Bagdonas have written a remarkable book for a remarkable moment in history. I long ago learned that when weighed down by serious matters, one may best be taken seriously by seeking out a certain light-heartedness as an expression of humility, optimism and confidence on the road to the serious business of nurturing trust and leading othersThis myth-busting, grin-inducing, data-driven humdinger of a book simply nails what I've clung on to for years: that humour can be more than ephemeral entertainment. When appropriately curated, it creates the right culture for success. In fact, its absence should be a cause for concern. You may eat your five a day and walk ten thousand steps but when did you last check if there was enough laughter in your life, in your team, in your business? If you had a centuries-old tried and tested tool that enhances rapport, creativity, collaboration, resilience, leadership, mental and physical health, sales and more - why wouldn't you use it?I've been a comedian for ages, and this book has finally convinced me that joking around can actually be important and helpful.

***WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER***

'A smart, funny, brilliant book on how to be smart about being funny, brilliantly' Sarah Cooper

'This book has finally convinced me that joking around can actually be important and powerful' Ed Gamble

'Eye-opening, important and utterly enjoyable. Come for the humour, stay for the insights' Arianna Huffington

Humour is a superpower. If you're not using it, the joke's on you.

When we're kids we laugh all the time. The average four year-old laughs as many as 300 times a day, while the average forty year-old laughs 300 times every two and a half months! We grow up, start working and suddenly become "serious and important people", trading laughter for bottom lines and mind-dumbing zoom calls.

But the benefits of humour for our work and life are huge. Studies have shown that humour makes us appear more competent and confident, strengthens our relationships, unlocks creativity and boosts resilience during difficult times.

Dr. Jennifer Aaker and Naomi Bagdonas are on a mission to help everyone discover the power of humour. Based on the popular Stanford Business course, this book will show you how to mine your life for material, explore the Four Deadly Humour Myths and help you figure out which style of humour you fall into - The Magnet, The Sweetheart, The Sniper or the Stand Up.

Drawing on behavioural science, advice from world-class comedians and stories from top leaders, Humour, Seriously will show you how to harness the power of humour every day.

Product Details

Title: Humour, Seriously
Author: Jennifer AakerNaomi Bagdonas
SKU: BK0437625
EAN: 9780241405932
Language: English

About Author

Dr Jennifer Aaker is a behavioural psychologist, author, and the General Atlantic Professor at Stanford Graduate School of Business. Her research focuses on the psychology of time and money and the choices driving lasting happiness. She teaches courses on innovation, the power of storytelling and purpose.Naomi Bagdonas is a Stanford lecturer, a strategy and media consultant and a professionally trained comedian. Naomi has designed and facilitated innovation workshops and strategy offsites for the boards and leadership teams of Fortune 100 companies. She performs improv and sketch comedy in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed