There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

In Our Mad and Furious City

₹ 699

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 h... Read More

Product Description

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or THIS IS ENGLAND.

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'A swaggering yet tender and polyphonic debut which capture the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' Observer

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY follows three young men on a London council estate over 48 hours when suddenly everything is at stakeGuy Gunaratne throws words against the wall and makes us watch them bounce. You feel the heat, reel from the sound, and bump to the unstoppable pulse. A novel so of this moment that you don't even realize you've waited your whole life for it.Gunaratne has a gift for inhabiting the lives of his characters, and has used that gift here to give life to Londoners who are not often seen in contemporary fiction... a very fine novelUtterly alive. Joyous in its languageA beautiful, fierce storm of a book, full of courage and hopeWhat a voice. What an ear for language. No mean feat to capture the street, the nuance of black experience, the architecture of so many different lives. It's a brave and original piece of workA riotous hymn to urban life... passionate, compellingThis is cracking. Original, honest voices and a vivid portrayal of a London rarely seen in literatureA vivid and affecting account of estate life, both blighted by frustration and elevated by dreams we can all recognise and share. Guy's characters are drawn with compassion and flair, and I was captivated by their humanityA timely read, addressing the urgent questions of our divided society. We're sure Guy is set for big thingsGritty, grotesque; graceful and beautiful. This is the London that we call homeThis novel is a love letter to the language of London's streets and to its people, but also a blistering look at a city on the edge that'll sweep you up until you reach the book's breathless, devastating conclusionA blistering debut unlike anything I've read before. This is a powerful, raw, yet heartrending account of 48 hours on a London estateThe prose remains alive, alert and subtly integrated, with various accents and non-standard Englishes raising themselves up to the same very high literary watermark. This is one of the hardest things to pull off for a prose stylist. The Dominican-born American writer Junot Diaz is, possibly, the finest living exponent of it. Gunaratne is no doubt on his way. What you are left with - always a treat though not by any stretch as essential to all writing as some would have you believe - is a prose that benefits from being read aloud. But more so, a prose that just plain deserves to be readIn Our Mad and Furious City is fraught and heartbreaking at the same time, with a biting, in-your-face clarity to it that you can't ignore. It's a searing marvel of a novelIn Our Mad and Furious City is our favourite debut of 2018. Gunaratne draws on growing up in north-west London in this tale of 48 hours on a council estate, where three young boys dream of escapingThis riotous hymn to urban life takes a passionate, compelling look at youth cultureTwo days of race riots, three teenage boys on a north London estate and a grittily realistic patois throughout make this debut glitter despite the darknessAlready hailed as a modern masterpiece, this timely and authentic portrayal of life for young men living on our city estates is as mesmerising as it is vital

Product Details

Title: In Our Mad and Furious City
Author: Guy Gunaratne
SKU: BK0432452
EAN: 9781472250209
Language: English
Binding: Paperback

About Author

Guy Gunaratne is the author of IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY, which won the International Dylan Thomas Prize, the Jhalak Prize and the Author's Club First Novel Award, as well as being shortlisted for the Goldsmith's and Gordon Burn, and longlisted for the Orwell Prize and the Booker. They are Visiting Fellow Commoner in Creative Arts at Trinity College, Cambridge., and a Trustee on the Board of English PEN, and have been a judge for the Goldsmiths Prize and for the Republic of Consciousness Prize. In 2019, the Financial Times included them in its list of the '30 Most Exciting Young People on the Planet'.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed