You have no items in your cart

Juneteenth

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on orders above Rs.1000

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Forty years in the making, Juneteenth is Ralph Ellison's second great novel and the follow-up to ... Read More

Product Description

Forty years in the making, Juneteenth is Ralph Ellison's second great novel and the follow-up to his classic Invisible ManExpanding the offering for fans of Ralph Ellison's National Book Award Winning Invisible Man, Juneteenth is being reissued alongside Flying Home and Other Stories in a fresh new packagePublished to huge acclaim after Ellison's death, this moving story of memory, identity and loss was hailed as 'majestic' by Toni MorrisonRalph Waldo Ellison (1914-94) was born in Oklahoma. In 1936 he went to New York, where he met the writers Langston Hughes and Richard Wright; shortly afterwards his stories and articles began to appear in magazines and journals. His debut novel, Invisible Man (1952), won the National Book Award and established Ellison as a major figure in twentieth-century fiction.

Published after Ellison's death, this follow-up to Invisible Man is a thunderous epic of memory, faith, loss and identity.

'Words are your business, boy. Not just the Word. Words are everything'

'Tell me what happened while there's still time,' demands the dying Senator Adam Sunraider to the itinerate black baptist minister he calls Daddy Hickman. As a young orphan, Sunraider was taken in and raised by Hickman, before reinventing himself as a racist politician. Now, as the two men confront the truth about their shared past in a final reckoning, Ellison's masterly novel takes in memories of a southern childhood, the rhythms of jazz and gospel and the richness of the African-American experience.

'Majestic' Toni Morrison

Product Details

Title: Juneteenth
Author: Ralph EllisonJohn Callahan
SKU: BK0466660
EAN: 9780241215005
Language: English

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed