There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Last Act In Palmyra

₹ 550

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Lindsey Davis has written over twenty historical novels, beginning with The Course of Honour. Her... Read More

Product Description

Lindsey Davis has written over twenty historical novels, beginning with The Course of Honour. Her bestselling mystery series features laid-back First Century detective Marcus Didius Falco and his partner Helena Justina, plus friends, relations, pets and bitter enemy the Chief Spy. After an English degree at Oxford University Lindsey joined the Civil Service, but became a professional author in 1989. Her books are translated into many languages and have been dramatized on BBC Radio 4. Her many prizes include the Premio Colosseo, awarded by the Mayor of Rome ‘for enhancing the image of Rome’, the Sherlock award for Falco as Best Comic Detective and the Crimewriters’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement.

For more information, please visit www.lindseydavis.co.uk.

A wonderful series of detective novelsSeveral cheers for Lindsey Davis... Great funSplendid . . . mystery, pace and wit

This gripping and pacy historical mystery is perfect for fans of S. J. Parris, Donna Leon, Steven Saylor and C. J. Sansom. With its wry humour, expert characterisation, vivid descriptions and incredible sense of adventure, you'll be hooked from page one...

'Several cheers for Lindsey Davis... Great fun' - The Times
'The whole thing is splendid. It has everything: mystery, pace, wit, fascinating scholarship ... she brings Imperial Rome to life' - Ellis Peters
'Another excellent Falco book that is difficult to put down' - ***** Reader review
'Astounding' - ***** Reader review
'A fabulous read' - ***** Reader review
'Full marks and happily recommended' - ***** Reader review

******************************************************************
DROWNING IN MYSTERY, DYING ON STAGE

The spirit of adventure calls Marcus Didius Falco on a new spying mission for the Emperor Vespasian to the untamed East. He's picking up extra fees from his old friend Thalia, the snake dancer, as he searches for Sophrona, her lost water organist. With the Chief Spy Anacrites paying his fare, Falco knows anything can go wrong.

A dangerous brush with the Brother, the sinister ruler of Nabataean Petra, sends Falco and his girlfriend Helena on a fast camel-ride to Syria. They join a traveling theatre group, which keeps losing members in non-accidental drownings.

The bad acting and poor audiences are almost as bad as the desert and its scorpions - then as the killer hovers, Falco tries to write a play...

Product Details

Title: Last Act In Palmyra
Author: Lindsey Davis
SKU: BK0467578
EAN: 9780099515128
Language: English

About Author

Lindsey Davis has written over twenty historical novels, beginning with The Course of Honour. Her bestselling mystery series features laid-back First Century detective Marcus Didius Falco and his partner Helena Justina, plus friends, relations, pets and bitter enemy the Chief Spy. After an English degree at Oxford University Lindsey joined the Civil Service, but became a professional author in 1989. Her books are translated into many languages and have been dramatized on BBC Radio 4. Her many prizes include the Premio Colosseo, awarded by the Mayor of Rome ‘for enhancing the image of Rome’, the Sherlock award for Falco as Best Comic Detective and the Crimewriters’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement.

For more information, please visit www.lindseydavis.co.uk.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed