There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Lost Horizon

₹ 399

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Lost Horizon was the first massmarket paperback published in America and sold many millions of co... Read More

Product Description

Lost Horizon was the first massmarket paperback published in America and sold many millions of copies during the 30s. It was immensely well-known in its day and it won the Hawthorden Prize in 1934This is a story that starts as a blokey adventure and morphs into something much more subtle. For fans of Hammond Innes and Rider Haggard, and anyone interested in utopian or dystopian writing. We will publish in time for Father's Day with a gloriously retro coverThis is the book that invented the concept of Shangri-La, one of our most enduring literary mysteries. The craze for trying to find its location persisted throughout the twentieth centuryHilton was one of the biggest selling authors of his time and for a while the highest paid screenwriter in Hollywood. He is the author of Goodbye Mr ChipsExclusive to Vintage ClassicsJames Hilton was born in Lancashire in 1900, the son of a headmaster. His best known books, Lost Horizon and Goodbye Mr Chips, were written during the thirties, a period which afforded him great commercial success and enormous popularity. Lost Horizon was made into a blockbuster Hollywood film in 1937. For a time, Hilton was highest paid screen-writer in Hollywood and he won an Academy Award in 1942 for his work on the screenplay of Mrs. Miniver. Hilton continued to write novels throughout his career. He died in 1954.

The gripping adventure that invented the mystery of Shangri-La.

Flying out of India, a light aircraft is hi-jacked and flown into the high Tibetan Himalayas. The few passengers on board anxiously await their fate, among them Conway, a talented British consul. But on landing they are unexpectedly conducted to a remote valley, a legendary paradise of peace and beauty, known as Shangri-La. Have they been kidnapped? Can they escape? And do they even want to?

From the author of Goodbye Mr Chips, this is the epic adventure story of literature's most entrancing utopia and one of our most enduring literary mysteries.

Hilton's premise strikes a deep chord in today's 'everything is relative' society. His utopia retains all its charm and, in his creation of Shangri-La, he added something permanently to the languageLost Horizon introduced the world to a Tibetan paradise where people live extraordinarily long lives of peace, harmony and wisdom. Expertly plotted and deftly written, Hilton's book suggests mysteries without spelling them out - and leaves us wanting moreJames Hilton invented the name Shangri-La for a paradise on earth in a book that captured the imagination of a public dealing with financial hardships and the threat of NazismMore than 60 years after James Hilton wrote Lost Horizon, launching one of the century's most enduring literary mysteries, the search for paradise on earth has led to the mountains of south-west China… Hilton intended it as a pacifist parable; Hollywood turned it into a romantic blockbusterThe important thing to note about this very fine novel - the tale of an adventure in Tibet - is that it is unusual and the product of a first-class mind...a wildly exciting story, nightmare, fantasy, or what you will

Product Details

Title: Lost Horizon
Author: James Hilton
SKU: BK0022656
EAN: 9780099595861
Language: English

About Author

James Hilton was born in Lancashire in 1900, the son of a headmaster. His best known books, Lost Horizon and Goodbye Mr Chips, were written during the thirties, a period which afforded him great commercial success and enormous popularity. Lost Horizon was made into a blockbuster Hollywood film in 1937. For a time, Hilton was highest paid screen-writer in Hollywood and he won an Academy Award in 1942 for his work on the screenplay of Mrs. Miniver. Hilton continued to write novels throughout his career. He died in 1954.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed