There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance

₹ 450

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Smart and funnyGuaranteed to melt the hardest of heartsA joy from start to finish: quirky, real a... Read More

Product Description

Smart and funnyGuaranteed to melt the hardest of heartsA joy from start to finish: quirky, real and moving, with unforgettable characters you’ll root for from the very beginningFinished Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance and I feel bereft. A wonderful, uplifting readBig-hearted and charmingWonderfulAn uplifting, heartwarming novel about the power of friendship and reading, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant, Three Things about Elsie and Elizabeth is Missing.

'Smart and funny' – Ruth Hogan, author of The Keeper of Lost Things

The first step was learning to read, but if she really wants to turn her life around, Maggsie is going to have to trust other people and that might just be the hardest lesson she’s ever faced . . .

Small and dyslexic, with a short fuse, bad teeth, a prison record and something to prove, Marguerite McNaughton – Maggsie – doesn't need anybody or anything, thank you very much. She's more than capable of looking after herself.

She’s also about to discover that everyone needs someone, sometimes.
Even her.

The thing about trusting others, though, is that not everyone is trustworthy . . .

It starts when a fellow inmate gives Maggsie reading lessons. Then she's offered a job in London as a kitchen assistant, together with supported accommodation and a colleague who seems determined to befriend Maggsie, no matter what.

At first, Maggsie is convinced nothing will change.
Especially her.

But maybe this time can be different? Maybe Maggsie can be different – if she can just put her previous mistakes behind her and her trust in the right people.

Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance, by Frances Maynard, is an uplifting, heartwarming novel about the power of friendship and the written word, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Home, Three Things about Elsie and Elizabeth is Missing.

Maggsie McNaughton's Second Chance is, appropriately enough, Frances Maynard's second novel. Her first, The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr, was runner-up in the Good Housekeeping 2014 First Novel Award and the 2018 McKitterick Prize, and shortlisted for both the 2016 Mslexia First Novel Competition and the Lucy Cavendish Prize. She teaches English, part-time, to adults with learning difficulties, including Dyslexia, and is married with one grown-up daughter. She lives in Dorset.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed