There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Memories Of Malgudi

₹ 850

(Inclusive of all taxes)

  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request


Memories of Malgudi bring together five unforgettable novels from the Narayan corpus. The Dark Ro... Read More

Product Description

Memories of Malgudi bring together five unforgettable novels from the Narayan corpus. The Dark Room, the first novel in this collection, is the story of the marital discord between Savitri, a traditional Hindu wife, and Ramani, her husband. The English Teacher is about another young couple: Krishna and his wife, Susila. Their world is full of love and laughter, but when Susila passes away, Krishna must deal with the tragic blow and find a reason to go on living. In The World of Nagaraj, Narayan’s final novel, Nagaraj’s life of small comforts is rudely interrupted by the arrival of his nephew Tim, and he struggles to fend off the turbulence which threatens to disrupt his world forever. Sriram, the hero of Waiting for the Mahatma, is in love with the enchanting Bharati, but her primary loyalty is to Gandhiji and his ideals. Sriram becomes a follower of the Mahatma himself, but finds himself adapting the great man’s ideas to suit his own petty ends. And in The Guide, Narayan’s award-winning novel, Raju the guide takes a roller-coaster ride through life—he falls in love with the beautiful dancer Rosie, seduces her away from her husband, transforms her into a celebrity but then falls out with her. Finally, through a series of ironical events, he becomes a well-respected holy man. The last in Penguin India’s series of collectors’ editions of R.K. Narayan’s novels, Memories of Malgudi showcases the best of the master storyteller’s oeuvre.

Product Details

Title: Memories Of Malgudi
Author: R K Narayan
Publisher: Penguin Random House India
ISBN: 9780141002453
SKU: BK0029845
EAN: 9780141002453
Language: English
Binding: Paperback
Reading age : All Age Groups

About Author

R.K. Narayan was born in Madras, South India, in 1906, and educated there and at Maharaja's College in Mysore. His first novel, Swami and Friends and its successor, The Bachelor of Arts, are both set in the enchanting fictional territory of Malgudi and are only two out of the twelve novels he based there. In 1958 Narayan's work The Guide won him the National Prize of the Indian Literary Academy, his country's highest literary honor. In addition to his novels, Narayan has authored five collections of short stories, including A Horse and Two Goats, Malguidi Days, and Under the Banyan Tree, two travel books, two volumes of essays, a volume of memoirs, and the re-told legends Gods, Demons and Others, The Ramayana, and the Mahabharata. In 1980 he was awarded the A.C. Benson Medal by the Royal Society of Literature and in 1982 he was made an Honorary Member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. Narayan died in 2001.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review

Recently viewed