There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Ogd

₹ 299

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Anushka Ravishankar, often called the Indian Dr Suess, has been a pioneer in writing both nonsens... Read More

Product Description

Anushka Ravishankar, often called the Indian Dr Suess, has been a pioneer in writing both nonsense in contemporary English in India and also picture books. Some of the earliest Indian picture books to be published internationally and win international awards were by her, such as Tiger on a Tree, Catch that Crocodile and Elephants Never Forget. She has gone on to collaborate with many international illustrators to create some extraordinary picture books.

More recently, her chapter books have also been much loved, such as Moin and the Monster and the Zain and Ana series. She is also the co-founder of the much acclaimed indie publishing house, Duckbill.

The blend of humour, realism and nonsense in Anushka's writing, as well as the charm of the characters she creates has won her many fans in India and internationally.

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born ... with her foot in her mouth.

This might be her story.

Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of the situation, this also is the basis of her profound teachings. As the Messiah travels through many dimensions, her followers learn the importance of bells, nirvana, clean feet, Klein bottles and phonetics, among diverse other things.

Ding dong.

Following in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Anushka Ravishankar writes nonsense prose, which addresses complex issues of the modern-day world with a deep and abiding meaninglessness.

Ogd is a profoundly nonsensical and hilarious fable by the bestselling children's author Anushka Ravishankar. While Anushka is famous for her nonsense poetry for younger kids, this is her first book of nonsense prose for older readers. Literary nonsense, such as that written by Lewis Carroll, Dr Suess and Edward Lear, is often used to look at complex issues from a different angle. Ogd deals with many issues of daily life, important and unimportant, such as cartography, education, hairstyling, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails. The book encourages the reader to both laugh at many of the current preoccupations in the world and encourages readers but also to think more deeply about them.

Product Details

Title: Ogd
Author: Anushka Ravishankar
SKU: BK0427548
EAN: 9780143450900
Language: English
Binding: Paperback

About Author

Anushka Ravishankar, often called the Indian Dr Suess, has been a pioneer in writing both nonsense in contemporary English in India and also picture books. Some of the earliest Indian picture books to be published internationally and win international awards were by her, such as Tiger on a Tree, Catch that Crocodile and Elephants Never Forget. She has gone on to collaborate with many international illustrators to create some extraordinary picture books.

More recently, her chapter books have also been much loved, such as Moin and the Monster and the Zain and Ana series. She is also the co-founder of the much acclaimed indie publishing house, Duckbill.

The blend of humour, realism and nonsense in Anushka's writing, as well as the charm of the characters she creates has won her many fans in India and internationally.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed