There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Other Names for Love

₹ 699

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

A beautiful novel on the desire to leave and the hope to remain, the need to find oneself among o... Read More

Product Description

A beautiful novel on the desire to leave and the hope to remain, the need to find oneself among one's people and away from themAn exceptional novel about fathers and sons, desire and love, and the long reach of the pastSuch a deftly told and evocative story of duty, masculinity and desireA twenty-first century variation of Turgenev's Fathers and Sons... Taymour Soomro is a thrilling new addition to international literatureThis haunted, haunting novel is about the cruelties we commit in our search for freedom and the bonds from which we can never be free. Taymour Soomro's piercing insight is that both the freedom and the bonds are constituent of love

The summer's unmissable literary debut, for fans of Damon Galgut, Brandon Taylor and Hisham Matar

On the train from Karachi, as dusk begins to fall, Fahad's dreams of his summer in London are fading. He is headed to Abad, the family's feudal estate, where his father intends to toughen up his sensitive boy, to teach him about power, duty, family -- to make him a man.

Instead, over the course of one shimmering, indolent season, Fahad finds himself seduced by the wildness of the land and by the people he meets: those who revere and revile his father; cousin Mousey, who lives alone with a man he calls his manager; and Ali, a teenager like him, whose presence threatens to unearth all that is hidden.

Other Names for Love is a truly exceptional novel: a luminous tale of memory and desire, inheritance and love, and the search for a sense of home. Written with urgency and unusual beauty, it marks the arrival of a stunning new voice in fiction.

Product Details

Title: Other Names for Love
Author: Taymour Soomro
SKU: BK0460402
EAN: 9781787303058
Language: English

About Author

Taymour Soomro is a Pakistani writer. He studied law at Cambridge University and Stanford Law School. His short fiction has appeared in the New Yorker and the Southern Review, and he is the co-editor, with Deepa Anappara, of Letters to a Writer of Colour, an anthology on fiction, race and culture forthcoming in 2023. Soomro lives in London.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed