There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

Oxblood

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

A vivid, gripping and exhilarating portrait of a family of women and their reckonings with the pa... Read More

Product Description

A vivid, gripping and exhilarating portrait of a family of women and their reckonings with the past - the perfect read for fans of Lisa McInerney's The Glorious Heresies, Guy Gunaratne's In Our Mad and Furious City and Luan Goldie's Nightingale PointTom Benn's first novel The Doll Princess was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Portico Prize, and longlisted for the CWA's John Creasey Dagger. Benn's creative nonfiction has appeared in the Paris Review and he won the BFI's iWrite scheme for emerging screenwriters. His first film Real Gods Require Blood premiered in competition at the Cannes Film Festival and was nominated for Best Short Film at the BFI London Film Festival. Oxblood was awarded the 2022 Sunday Times Charlotte Aitken Young Writer of the Year Award and was longlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize. Originally from Stockport, he teaches on the UEA Crime Fiction Creative Writing MA and lives in Norwich. @Tom_Benn**Winner of the 2022 Sunday Times Charlotte Aitken Young Writer of the Year Award** **Longlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize 2022** 'Oxblood shows us that there are few places literature can't take us, if the writer is brave enough, and gifted enough' FRANCIS SPUFFORD 'The master of northern noir' SUNDAY TIMES 'Brilliant' DENISE MINA 'An absolute triumph' GUARDIAN 'Powerful and so beautifully written' HARRIET TYCE ________________________________________________________________ Wythenshawe, South Manchester. 1985. The Dodds family once ruled Manchester's underworld; now the men are dead, leaving three generations of women trapped in a house haunted by violence, harbouring an unregistered baby and the ghost of a murdered lover. Over the course of a few days, Nedra, Carol and Jan must each confront the true legacy of the men who have defined their lives; and seize the opportunity to break the cycle for good. _______________________________________________________________ 'If I read a better novel than Oxblood in 2022, it'll be a blinding year for fiction' JOSEPH KNOX 'A propulsive, bountiful, fearless work of art' OYINKAN BRAITHWAITE 'One of the most powerful and urgent writers of our times' DAVID PEACEA furious, blistering, deeply tender novel about family, violence and the hope of redemption, set against the vivid backdrop of 80s ManchesterWith a brutal yet compassionate honesty, Oxblood confronts the past as it was and how it shapes who we are now, and confirms Tom Benn as one of the most powerful and urgent writers of our timesThe master of northern noirA rich archive of bygone badnessAn astonishing piece of work. Captures the stories of three women from an underworld family with ferocious honesty and compassion. Audacious writing - visceral, rich and intense. Unforgettable characters haunted by violence and grief. ExceptionalOxblood shows us that there are few places literature can't take us, if the writer is brave enough, and gifted enoughPowerful stuff and so beautifully written - like David Peace wrote Alan Warner's The Sopranos and so lyrical, too. You don't care where it's heading, you're just happy to step into the flow and let it take you. Brilliant stuff - this is really very good indeedTom Benn is one of publishing's best kept secrets. His story about the struggles of three generations of women in a Manchester crime clan has been rendered with such care and specificity that it feels wholly original. The result is a rich, dark, atmospheric family saga that contains so much buried love and anger and grief and sexual jealousy and bitter disappointment . I emerged from it exhilaratedIf I read a better novel than Oxblood in 2022, it'll be a blinding year for fiction. Tom Benn, please take a bow. Everybody else, please take noteReading Oxblood is a compelling and deeply unsettling experience; this is a novel that glitters with the dark energy and lifeblood of its charactersA propulsive, bountiful, fearless work of artWhat a voice Tom Benn has got, what a feel for character and place, and what an uncompromising approach he has to his subject and material. He's gritty but totally empathetic, and inhabits his milieu of 1980s Manchester with total conviction and no attempt to soften the voices of his charactersA remarkable galvanization of a time and a place, its style and substance so rooted in one another it is impossible to imagine it being written by anyone else. A story that seeps into you, sentences turned to catch the light like night eyes. A living thingOne of those rare books where place and time are conjured so effortlessly, the cast of characters drawn with so much ease and graceMore than anything, I was enamored with Benn's audacity: to tell this raw, violent, compassionate story; to use language in such a thrilling and fresh way; to explore the dark hearts of ordinary people, and to not look way when things get messy; to be, basically, this goodThe gangland novel you have never read before, the one that gets inside the minds of three generations of women whose lives are bound to the crime lords of Wythenshawe by blood, flesh, fear, desire and a hunger for possession that cannot be contained in one lifetime. In a place where Mean Streets meets Most Haunted, with his hyper-intense, hallucinogenic prose, Benn will make you believe in ghostsOxblood is a book to get lost headlong in. Tom Benn manages to be heart-felt and attentive and generous, without ever resorting to being sentimental . This is a book of anti-sentimental greatness, wonderfully written, deft and pungent and sensuous . It is honest and truthful, but also a great feat of fiction

Product Details

Title: Oxblood
Author: Tom Benn
SKU: BK0446641
EAN: 9781526639530

About Author

Tom Benn's first novel The Doll Princess was shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize and the Portico Prize, and longlisted for the CWA's John Creasey Dagger. Benn's creative nonfiction has appeared in the Paris Review and he won the BFI's iWrite scheme for emerging screenwriters. His first film Real Gods Require Blood premiered in competition at the Cannes Film Festival and was nominated for Best Short Film at the BFI London Film Festival. Oxblood was awarded the 2022 Sunday Times Charlotte Aitken Young Writer of the Year Award and was longlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize. Originally from Stockport, he teaches on the UEA Crime Fiction Creative Writing MA and lives in Norwich. @Tom_Benn

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed