There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Parasha and Other Poems

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

A unique collection of poems by one of the pillars of nineteenth-century Russian literature.Prese... Read More

Product Description

A unique collection of poems by one of the pillars of nineteenth-century Russian literature.Presented in a brand-new translation with facing Russian textAlso contains four other narrative poems by Turgenev, all showing the author's early interest in ordinary stories of Russian life.First translation into English of a unique collection of poems by one of the pillars of nineteenth-century Russian literature.,Presented with facing Russian text,Also contains four other narrative poems by Turgenev, all showing the author's early interest in ordinary stories of Russian life.Ivan Turgenev (1818-83) was a novelist, poet and dramatist, and now ranks as one of the towering figures of Russian literature. His masterpiece, Fathers and Children, is considered one of the greatest novels of the nineteenth century.One of the pillars of nineteenth-century Russian prose fiction alongside towering figures such as Gogol, Dostoevsky and Tolstoy, Ivan Turgenev started his writing career as a poet, gaining much critical acclaim and renown in that field. The title piece of this collection, Parasha, which brought the young author to the attention of the influential critic Vissarion Belinsky and established his reputation, is a humorous narrative poem in the vein of Pushkin's Eugene Onegin or Lermontov's Sashka, telling the story of a young woman's marriage to her dull, unromantic neighbour and the couple's humdrum and more or less happy life ever after. Also contained in this volume are four other narrative poems by Turgenev - Andrei, A Conversation, The Landowner and The Village Priest - all showing the author's early interest in ordinary stories of Russian life and all displaying the wit and stylistic versatility that we have come to associate with his more famous prose works.A unique edition and a brand-new translation of Ivan Turgenev's Parasha and Other Poems. It completes Alma collection of Ivan Turgenev's works

Product Details

Title: Parasha and Other Poems
Author: Ivan TurgenevMichael Pursglove
SKU: BK0461604
EAN: 9781847498915
Language: English

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed