There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Rebel of the Sands

₹ 450

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Alwyn Hamilton was born in Toronto and spent her early years bouncing between Europe and Canada ... Read More

Product Description

Alwyn Hamilton was born in Toronto and spent her early years bouncing between Europe and Canada until her parents settled in France. She left France for Cambridge University to study History of Art at King's College, focusing in on painting in the French Revolution. She then moved to London where she now lives and put her degree to use working for an auction house. REBEL OF THE SANDS is her first novel.The first in a trilogy packed with shooting contests, train robberies, festivals under the stars, powerful Djinni magic and an electrifying love story.Alwyn Hamilton's debut novel is a high-concept, and highly enjoyable, epic fantasy adventure for young adults. Picture a gun-slinging, hard-drinking wild west, transpose it on to a sweeping, romantic desert, then add a rebel prince bent on overthrowing a wicked sultan, and a little magic in the manner ofA Thousand and One Nights. It's a winning combination.A hugely entertaining, lushly painted Western with a rich seam of Arabic culture, djinni magic, breathless romance and show-stopping action sequences.Combining a whirligig narrative with a richly evoked fantasy desert setting, Hamilton barely lets the reader pause for breathe and the best news is there is more to come: it's the first in a trilogy."Alwyn Hamilton's Rebel of the Sands is a refreshing addition to the fantasy genre, with a unique setting blending the Wild West and Arabian Nights, a complex heroine, a touch of magic, and a very cool twist that made me want to go back to the beginning and start reading all over again."From the irresistible opening paragraph, this rollicking caper expertly mashes up a gritty Middle East with a steampunk Old West, succeeding through the infectious voice of its heroine: brash, witty, cynical, and fierce, with an aching, vulnerable core and a suppressed streak of idealism. The secondary characters are just as memorable, from snarky, secretive Jin to their various foes, who range from cartoonish to terrifying to darkly tragic. Amani's adventures through this immersive alternative landscape continually veer off into unpredictable detours, looping back to an almost overstuffed climax that manages to deliciously satisfy while dangling tempting hints for a sequel.Romantic, thrilling, hilarious, and just plain great fun.I was hooked and raced through the book, completely missing any clues to the secrets revealed in this first in a trilogy. I may just have to re-read it while I wait for the sequel.Rebel of the Sands is a must-read for lovers of fantasy and YA alike. It's pleasingly refreshing in its world-building, and diverse in its cast, down to the gender-fluid Demdjii that morphs between male and female at will. And with a heroine as ballsy as Star Wars: The Force Awakens' Rey, this story is right on trend. It deserves the buzz that's coming its way.A wonderful mix of fantasy, mythology, romance and good-old-fashioned girl power!19 Of The Best YA Books Of 2016.This atmospheric fantasy combines magic, mythology, and the Wild West to create a riveting tale.Readers will be drawn into the story and won't want to put this book down.If the best of the Old West and the coolest parts of Arabian Nights had a baby who then rebelled by going steampunk, the result would be this gem of a book.Hamilton doles out the details carefully, and by the end all becomes clear, which is quite a feat given how many elements were thrown into a genre blender and spun around. The menacing foes have depth, the allies are staunch and clever, and Amani is golden, if flawed. The hints of a sequel will undoubtedly have readers crossing their fingers.It's Lonesome Dove meets Aladdin, but with a barbed-tongued, restless girl in the driver's seat. The blending of Western tropes with the magical intrigue of One Thousand and One Nightsbrings danger from every angle, both in the form of the mortal men and supernatural jinni.This fantasy reads like a perfect combination of American Westerns and Arabian myths, a unique blend that is the story's biggest strength. The heroine and hero have great banter, which serves to quickly develop their true romantic feelings. Amani's talent with a gun and drive to take control of her life make her a truly likable character despite her flaws. If the story lacks anything, it is originality in the typical "teen learns she has powers and may be the key to saving the land" trope. The novel's ending is solid, and a sequel appears to be in the midst. Fans of Sarah Maas and Victoria Aveyard should give this one a try.Teaming with action, wicked magic, and vivid characters, this novel will leave fantasy fans begging for more.The first in the highly acclaimed trilogy packed with shooting contests, train robberies, festivals under the stars, powerful Djinni magic and an electrifying love story. WINNER of the 2016 Goodreads Choice Award for Best Debut Author.

"Tell me that and we'll go. Right now. Save ourselves and leave this place to burn. Tell me that's how you want your story to go and we'll write it straight across the sand."

Dustwalk is Amani's home. The desert sand is in her bones. But she wants to escape. More than a want. A need.

Then a foreigner with no name turns up to save her life, and with him the chance to run. But to where? The desert plains are full of danger. Sand and blood are swirling, and the Sultan's enemies are on the rise.

Praise for the series:

'Sheer escapism.' Guardian

'Winning.' New York Times

'Thrilling.' Booklist

'Hugely entertaining . . . breathless romance and show-stopping action sequences.' Bookseller

Product Details

Title: Rebel of the Sands
Author: Alwyn Hamilton
SKU: BK0111438
EAN: 9780571325252

About Author

Alwyn Hamilton was born in Toronto and spent her early years bouncing between Europe and Canada until her parents settled in France. She left France for Cambridge University to study History of Art at King's College, focusing in on painting in the French Revolution. She then moved to London where she now lives and put her degree to use working for an auction house. She now writes full-time and REBEL OF THE SANDS was her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed