There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Running on the Roof of the World

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in ... Read More

Product Description

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12.

There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. 'Dalai Lama.'

Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash's parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet - and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India.

And so, with a backpack of Tash's father's mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

I focus on my beating heart. I know my Mum and Dad are still alive. My heart would feel different if they weren't. Wouldn't it...?

After twelve-year-old Tash's parents are seized by soldiers, she and her best friend Sam resolve to rescue them. But to do so, they must escape Tibet, cross the mountains and seek help from the Dalai Lama in India. And so an extraordinary journey begins...

A vivid, richly atmospheric story of adventure, survival and hope.

A richly atmospheric story of survival and hope set in Tibet and India, filled with friendship, love and courage. This young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for fans of Katherine Rundell, Lauren St John or Polly Ho-Yen.Daring kids, sidekick yaks, Himalayan setting - all the ingredients of a smashing adventure.A wonderful story of courage and hope.A powerful, compelling story of hope, wisdom and compassion...a cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people.This beautifully designed book is a richly atmospheric story of friendship, courage and survival....a thrilling fable about hope, and the importance of holding onto what matters, no matter what. With its derring-do charm, and vivid sense of place, this follows in the tradition of classic adventure stories, and comes thoroughly recommended for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Lauren St John and Katherine Rundell.With a cover that sings of sunrise and adventure, and inside pages that hold intricate print designs and hidden yaks, this is a beautiful book to own. An eye-opening and somewhat different read....one of those stories that gives its young readers an honest understanding of some of the awful things that go on in the world, but balances that understanding with a narrative of survival and hope...This is a fantastic book which is relevant to today's crises: refugees, conflict and children growing up in war zones. Although there's danger, gruelling journeys and battles to survive, there is also hope, and hope is the essence of Tash's story.This is an excellent story it maintains a good pace throughout and is filled with insights into both Tibetan and Indian culture.Running on the Roof of the World by Jess Butterworth is full of excitement and tension, and also gives you a glimpse of the culture and lifestyle of the people in the mountains....an absolute page-turner and Tash was an amazing character full of spirit and determination.A story of adventure, survival and hopeA captivatingly classic adventure.A cracking adventure and survival novel set in the Himalayas which really makes you think about the plight of the Tibetan people.There's inevitably a political element to the story, pitched at just the right level, but this is also an exciting adventures with vivid descriptions of the landscape. A story relevant to the world that we live in today, told with compassion and understanding.This is a wonderfully fast-paced read that's a celebration of courage and integrity in the face of danger, and the importance of standing up for what you believe in.

Product Details

Title: Running on the Roof of the World
Author: Jess ButterworthRob Biddulph
SKU: BK0428619
EAN: 9781510102088
Language: English

About Author

Jess spent her childhood between the UK and India, and grew up hearing stories about the Himalayas from her grandmother. She's lived in India and even met with the Dalai Lama. She studied creative writing at Bath Spa and after a few years living in Louisiana, is now back in the UK, where she lives with her husband and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed