There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Shoko's Smile

₹ 699

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

In crisp, unembellished prose, Choi Eunyoung paints intimate portraits of the lives of young wome... Read More

Product Description

In crisp, unembellished prose, Choi Eunyoung paints intimate portraits of the lives of young women in South Korea, balancing the personal with the political. In the title story, a fraught friendship between an exchange student and her host sister follows them from adolescence to adulthood. In 'A Song from Afar', a young woman grapples with the death of her lover, travelling to Russia to search for information about the deceased. In 'Secret', the parents of a teacher killed in the Sewol ferry sinking hide the news of her death from her grandmother.

In the tradition of Sally Rooney, Banana Yoshimoto, and Marilynne Robinson - writers from different cultures who all take an unvarnished look at human relationships and the female experience - Choi Eunyoung is a writer to watch.

A bestselling and award-winning debut collection from one of South Korea's most prominent young writersInsightful and deeply feltWritten with sober detail, filmic precision and absolute control . . . an incredibly impressive collection told with realism, seriousness and moral integrityGentle yet elucidating . . . Shoko's Smile is the most beautiful book I've come across this yearShoko's Smile is the outcome of Choi's quite triumphant attempt to invent her own way to talk about dark facets of our reality . . . And her way at first comes across as bright and lighthearted. Of course, misleadingly so . . . Choi invents the narratives of today's real people who have not surrendered or become oppressors themselves, and who have survived nonetheless Eunyoung's engaging debut collection examines her protagonists' interior lives in moments of longing, connection, and familial rift . . . Eunyoung's lyrical prose and complex characters will captivate readers

Product Details

Title: Shoko's Smile
Author: Choi Eunyoung
SKU: BK0459255
EAN: 9781529376043
Language: English

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed