There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

Skin of the Sea

₹ 450

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Natasha Bowen is a writer, a teacher, and a mother of three children. She is of Nigerian and Wels... Read More

Product Description

Natasha Bowen is a writer, a teacher, and a mother of three children. She is of Nigerian and Welsh descent and lives in Cambridge, England, where she grew up. Natasha studied English and creative writing at Bath Spa University before moving to East London, where she taught for nearly ten years. Her debut book was inspired by her passion for mermaids and African history. She is obsessed with Japanese and German stationery and spends stupid amounts on notebooks, which she then features on her secret Instagram. When she's not writing, she's reading, watched over carefully by Milk and Honey, her cat and dog.One of the most epic and original fantasies I've read in a long time. Natasha Bowen has crafted a world full of heart and imagination.The most engrossing, thought-provoking, beautiful novel...knocks your socks off and leaves you wanting more.Bursting with innovative inspiration...A divine debut that explores the glories of West African myth, religion, and historyA compelling, moving YA fairytale, richly woven with west African mythologyA triumph of storytelling.A dazzling debut . . . Bowen relays a story as lushly described as it is cinematic, centering a brave headstrong protagonist coming into her own power in an age of change'Fantastical creatures and vengeful gods form a vivid backdrop to this rich and original story of one girl's journey to find herself' Observer (YA Books of Month)

An epic love story infused with West African mythology. For fans of The Gilded Ones, Children of Blood and Bone, and Circe, this book is a powerful new imagining of a devastating time in history, told through the eyes of a bold and unforgettable heroine.

This is the story of a great love - a love that will threaten worlds and anger Gods.

This is a story that will change history.

Simidele is one of the Mami Wata, mermaids duty-bound to collect the souls of those who die at sea and bless their journeys back home to the Supreme Creator.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard a slave ship, Simi saves his life, going against an ancient decree and bringing terrible danger to the mami wata.

Now Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends - a journey of vengeful gods, treacherous lands and legendary creatures. If she fails, she risks not just the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.


"A compelling, moving YA fairytale, richly woven with west African mythology" - The Guardian

"One of the most epic and original fantasies Ive read in a long time. Natasha Bowen has crafted a world full of heart and imagination" - Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Instructions for Dancing

"The most engrossing, thought-provoking, beautiful novel...knocks your socks off and leaves you wanting more" - Namina Forna, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Ones


"A triumph of storytelling" - Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead


'This poignant supernatural romance stands out for its sensuous prose' Financial Times

'Fantastical creatures and vengeful gods form a vivid backdrop to this rich and original story of one girl's journey to find herself' Observer (YA Books of Month)

Product Details

Title: Skin of the Sea
Author: Natasha Bowen
SKU: BK0455114
EAN: 9780241413975
Language: English

About Author

Natasha Bowen is a New York Times bestselling author, a teacher, and a mother of three children. She is of Nigerian and Welsh descent and lives in Cambridge, England, where she grew up. Natasha studied English and creative writing at Bath Spa University before moving to East London, where she taught for nearly ten years. She is obsessed with Japanese and German stationery and spends stupid amounts on notebooks, which she then features on her secret Instagram. When she's not writing, she's reading, watched over carefully by Milk and Honey, her cat and dog.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed