There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

Skyfall

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

The book was longlisted for the prestigious ZHR Writing Prize.For readers of Kamila Shamsie and K... Read More

Product Description

The book was longlisted for the prestigious ZHR Writing Prize.For readers of Kamila Shamsie and Khalid HosseiniThe author's work has been published in The Huffington Post, DAWN, Express Tribuneand ThinkProgress, Washington.Saba Karim Khan holds a postgraduate [M.Phil] degree from Oxford University and currently teaches at New York University's international campus in Abu Dhabi. She has taught two creative writing courses and led four creative writing workshops for undergraduate MFA students. Her work has been published in The Huffington Post, DAWN, Express Tribune and ThinkProgress, Washington. She has also been commissioned to write the memoirs of a classical music artist in Pakistan, whose repertoire focuses on ghazals by Faiz Ahmed Faiz and Mirza Ghalib.Born in Heera Mandi, Lahore's famous red-light district, Rania is a tour guide by day and a classical singer by night. Despite the worst of humanity every day - her madrassa-running father selling her mother's body and beating her sister - Rania remains the 'troublemaker', unable to give up on her dreams. When an Indian filmmaker encourages her to enrol in a music contest that can take her to New York, her dreams take flight. But even as she wins the hearts of her listeners, a family secret threatens to bring her life in Heera Mandi back in sharp relief, upending the new life she has built for herself. From the oppressive walls of religious hypocrisy to the orange jumpsuits of American prisons, Skyfall is a tender, piercing debut that teaches us the strength of human endeavour and our desire for love in a time of hate.A stunning tale of fighting the odds to achieve impossible dreams from a brave new voice in fiction.Spunky, seventeen-year-old Rania takes us on a riveting journey from the haunting slums of Heera Mandi, Lahore's famous red-light district, to her escape from her abusive father, through a music contest in America. How she navigates through the dystopian West - and learns to love her beautiful, broken homeland again - takes us on a fast-paced trajectory through this complex novel. A powerful, soulful and timely debut.'Bold and compelling, Skyfall takes us to a place spoken of only in whispers. Khan shows us Lahore and New York as never seen before. In the midst of the 24-hour internet cafes and colorful mahallas of Old Lahore, the protagonist grows up. Khan's prose will sweep you off your feet. It is lyrical to the point of being magical and shines a light on a section of society that has long been forgotten. Part mystery and part thriller, this is essential reading for every Lahori, or every Pakistani for that matter. Unmissable.''This indelible debut by Saba Karim Khan sings a song of rebellion, bursting with incendiary energy. And that voice! - at once elegiac and growling, whispering and full-throated, it grabs us like an aria sung from a dark street corner. Skyfall's characters are makers of trouble - of the kinds both good and bad - and we readers are whisked through complex inner lives that bounce between Lahore and New York City, two hardscrabble and hopeful worlds that on these pages meet, finally, as equals. Khan's elegant novel rings with resistance: that, come what may, though the sky may fall, our words can remain a defiant defence of human frailties in a spiraling world of menacing pieties. Stand with Khan; read this book; find your closed eyes opened.' -'Skyfall is a bold, big-hearted debut: at once a deeply political novel concerned with the most pressing global issues of our time, it is also an adventure story, a romance, and a page-turning thriller. Saba Karim Khan has established herself as a writer of immense tenderness and strength.''Saba Karim Khan's debut complicates the usual tropes one might expect in a South Asian novel. Rania, the protagonist, is the kind of troublemaker who dreams big and soars high. From Lahore slums to New York City high rises, Rania puts everything on the line to fight against prejudices related to gender, religion, caste, class, and country. A spirited, take-charge heroine for our challenging, complex times.''A breathtaking, daring, and urgent debut novel that delivers a cavalcade of piercing emotional truth about the immigrant experience. Rania is a hero for our times, and her global odyssey illuminates our shared humanity with arresting vision and aplomb. In the mode of Mohsin Hamid and David Mitchell, this is a wise and provocative feat of storytelling that contains multitudes.'

Product Details

Title: Skyfall
Author: Saba Karim Khan
SKU: BK0430452
EAN: 9789390252381

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed