There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

The Last Chairlift

Release date: 28 September 2023
₹ 699

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request


John Irving, one of the world’s greatest novelists, returns with his first novel in seven years ―... Read More

Product Description

John Irving, one of the world’s greatest novelists, returns with his first novel in seven years ― a ghost story, a love story, and a lifetime of sexual politics.

In Aspen, Colorado, in 1941, Rachel Brewster is a slalom skier at the National Downhill and Slalom Championships. Little Ray, as she is called, finishes nowhere near the podium, but she manages to get pregnant. Back home, in New England, Little Ray becomes a ski instructor.

Her son, Adam, grows up in a family that defies conventions and evades questions concerning the eventful past. Years later, looking for answers, Adam will go to Aspen. In the Hotel Jerome, where he was conceived, Adam will meet some ghosts; in 
The Last Chairlift, they aren’t the first or the last ghosts he sees.

John Irving has written some of the most acclaimed books of our time ― among them, 
The World According to Garp and The Cider House Rules. A visionary voice on the subject of sexual tolerance, Irving is a bard of alternative families. In The Last Chairlift, readers will once more be in his thrall.


Product Details

Title: The Last Chairlift
Author: John Irving
Publisher: Scribner UK - Simon& Schuster
SKU: BK0486122
EAN: 9781471179112
Number Of Pages: 912
Language: English
Binding: Paperback
Release date: 28 September 2023

About Author

John Irving published his first novel, Setting Free the Bears, in 1968. He has been nominated for a National Book Award three times-winning once, in 1980, for the novel The World According to Garp. He also received an O. Henry Award, in 1981, for the short story "Interior Space." In 1992, Mr. Irving was inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in Stillwater, Oklahoma. In 2000, he won the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay for The Cider House Rules-a film with seven Academy Award nominations. In 2001, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Letters. For more information about the author, please visit

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review

Recently viewed