There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

The Vanishing Generations

₹ 400 ₹ 799

(50% OFF)

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request


The Paalat family was cursed. Or so the people of Kudamon believed. For seven generations, every ... Read More

Product Description

The Paalat family was cursed. Or so the people of Kudamon believed. For seven generations, every young man who married into the Paalat family sired a daughter and died soon after.

When Isthaak’s son Kunjilona married a Paalat girl, the village only expected the inevitable. Kunjilona however survived and set the family on the road to prosperity and a leading role in public affairs. The Paalats were soon the pre-eminent family of Kudamon.

The Vanishing Generations is the sprawling saga of one family, an entire community, the syncretic culture of Kerala and, indeed, religion, caste, social inequity and change.

Even as Kunjilona, Kunchacko, Abraham, John Paul, Francis, Mathew and their clan live and love and strive against the forces of history, the novel unravels the tangled story of the Syrian Catholic Church and the many other significant events that resulted in definitive changes to Kerala society in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

A much-loved epic of Malayalam literature, T.V. Varkey’s magnum opus probes how historical events shape individuals and how people shape history. It is a saga at once uplifting and also reflective of the tragedy of modern times.

Product Details

Title: The Vanishing Generations
Author: T V. Varkey
Publisher: Westland Publications
ISBN: 9789386850010
SKU: BK0425627
EAN: 9789386850010
Language: English
Binding: Paperback
Reading age : All Age Groups

About Author

Born in Kottayam district, Varkey has authored a dozen novels and two volumes of short stories in Malayalam. His novel, Vazhiyum Nizhalum (The Road and the Shadow), explores the love story of a widow, which is considered to be a landmark of the stream-of-consciousness narrative. His major other novels are: Sooryante Maranam (The Death of the Sun), Mulmaram (The Thorny Tree), Nam Chithalukal (We are Termites), Chhaya (The Shadow) and Thrikalam (The Three Seasons). His short stories, Njan Verum Njan (I’m Merely Me), The Vice-Chancellor, Veendum Kozhi Koovunnu (Again the Cock Crows), Aviswasi (The Unbeliever) and Gandhi Sishyan (Gandhi’s Disciple) etc. are widely acclaimed. The much-lauded Manjupokunna Thalamurakal (The Vanishing Generations) is regarded as his magnum opus. It is a sweeping family saga set against the modern history of the unique Syrian Catholic Church, and the evolving various other communities of Kerala. Varkey lives in Kochi. A. K. Srikumar is a writer and translator.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review

Recently viewed