There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheChanging Mind

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Daniel Levitin is an acclaimed neuroscientist and best-selling author of The Organized Mind (more... Read More

Product Description

Daniel Levitin is an acclaimed neuroscientist and best-selling author of The Organized Mind (more than 127k) and This is Your Brain on Music (46,000 TCM). 154.3k copies of Daniel Levitin's books have been sold in the UK (TCM as at May 2019).The author's TED talk has 9.2 million views (as at May 2019). He has over 17.2k followers on Twitter and 10k on Facebook.This book has the same ambition, breadth and format as The Organized Mind. It will be perfect for readers of Being Mortal by Atul Gawande (127.8k TCM) and Oliver Sacks (518.5k TCM).Daniel J. Levitin, PhD, is a neuroscientist, cognitive psychologist, and bestselling author. He trained at Stanford University Medical School, The University of California at Berkeley, and the University of Oregon. He is founding dean of Arts and Humanities at the Minerva Schools at KGI in San Francisco and Professor Emeritus of psychology and neuroscience at McGill University. He is the author of This Is Your Brain on Music, The World in Six Songs, The Organized Mind, and A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics. He divides his time between Montreal and California.The secrets of ageing well ... Daniel Levitin is a distinguished American neuroscientist and this is a serious, evidence-based guide to what really works and whyA fact-filled and optimistic guide to ageing well ... Levitin is an invaluable kind of scientist ... The Changing Mind is replete with curious facts ... Optimism is a life-preserver. His book bubbles with it. Levitin makes a strong case for the consolations if not the joys of ageOptimistic in tone ... Levitin loves to tell stories ... he's a good companionComprehensive and fascinating insight into the evolving human brain. This book could change your lifeNone of us can afford to ignore Daniel Levitin's The Changing Mind ... The good news is that it's not all downhill: according to Levitin our decision-making skills and happiness levels actually increase in later lifeThe idea that your mind has to decline with age is false - and there is plenty we can do to keep it sharpNeuroscientist Levitin delves into the multiple-trace theory of memory, the ageing microbiome, fats and the brain, the impacts of neural implants, and the joys of non-retirement. A clear-eyed, insightful overview of the neurophysiological healthspanDelivers welcome news about the ageing brain: it is happier, quicker and often much healthier than you may imagineDaniel Levitin's refreshing perspective on ageing will change your opinion on this unique phase of life and challenge the 'slowing down' stereotype. Using a scientific and thoroughly engaging approach, Levitin convinces us that with medical advances alongside positive lifestyle changes described in this book, we can all look forward to older age as a fulfilling and exciting chapter in our livesThis is a book that can make things feel a whole lot brighterIf you're planning to age, read this book. Wise, sensitive, and insightful, Levitin shares the tools that allow you to optimize the processA wise, insightful, and beautifully-written book on how we can navigate the waters of time. Helpful for readers at any age.Predictions are perilous, but here's one I can make with certainty: Tomorrow you and I will be older than we are today. That's why you, I, and everyone we know needs this remarkable book. With a scientist's rigour and a storyteller's flair, Daniel Levitin offers a fresh approach to growing older. He debunks the idea that ageing inevitably brings infirmity and unhappiness and instead offers a trove of practical, evidence-based guidance for living longer and better. The Changing Mind is an essential book for the rest of your life.A compelling primer on our amazingly dynamic brains and the steps we can all take to harness that potentialAn uplifting exploration of the brain, and how it does not age as we often fear

THE NEW YORK TIMES AND SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE ORGANIZED MIND

'Everyone we know needs this remarkable book ... Essential for the rest of your life' Daniel H. Pink, author of When and Drive'

'The secrets of ageing well ... a serious, evidence-based guide to what really works and why' Sunday Times
____________________________________________


We have long been encouraged to think of old age as synonymous with a decline in skills. Yet recent studies show that our decision making improves as we age, and our happiness levels peak in our eighties. What really happens to our brains as we get older?

In The Changing Mind (published in America as Successful Aging), neuroscientist and internationally bestselling author Daniel Levitin invites us to dramatically shift our understanding of aging, demonstrating the many benefits of growing older. He draws on cutting-edge research to offer realistic guidelines and practical tips for readers to follow during every decade of life, showing us we all can learn from those who age joyously. Find out:

-Why the story that older people don't need as many hours of sleep is a myth
-What part environment, behaviour and luck play in how our brains age
-How to increase the proportion of your life span spent in good health and decrease the time you spend sick
-What you can do to maintain strength of body, mind and spirit whilst coping with the limitations of aging

Combining science and storytelling, The Changing Mind is a radically new way to think about aging.

'Read this book. Wise, sensitive, and insightful' David Eagleman, author of The Brain

'A comprehensive and fascinating insight into the evolving human brain. This book could change your life' Professor Stephen Westaby, author of Fragile Lives

Product Details

Title: TheChanging Mind
Author: Daniel Levitin
SKU: BK0451812
EAN: 9780241379400
Language: English

About Author

Daniel J. Levitin, PhD, is a neuroscientist, cognitive psychologist, and bestselling author. He trained at Stanford University Medical School, The University of California at Berkeley, and the University of Oregon. He is founding dean of Arts and Humanities at the Minerva Schools at KGI in San Francisco and Professor Emeritus of psychology and neuroscience at McGill University. He is the author of This Is Your Brain on Music, The World in Six Songs, The Organized Mind, and A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics. He divides his time between Montreal and California.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed