There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheComplete Classical Music Guide

₹ 1,099

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request


John Burrows, OBE (foreword writer) is a concert promoter and organizer who has worked with many ... Read More

Product Description

John Burrows, OBE (foreword writer) is a concert promoter and organizer who has worked with many of the world's leading orchestras and artists, including Luciano Pavarotti, Leonard Bernstein, and Yehudi Menuhin. He established the Capital Radio Music Festivals and has been Director of the Classic FM Summer Music Festival. John is an Honorary Member of the Royal College of Music. He lives in Hampshire.

What makes Mozart's music so great? Why does a minor chord sound sad and a major chord sound happy? What's the difference between opera and operetta? From Bach to Bernstein, this definitive guide offers a complete survey of the history of classical music.

Whether you already love classical music or you're just beginning to explore it, The Complete Classical Music Guide invites you to discover the spirituality of Byrd's masses, the awesome power of Handel's Messiah, and the wonders of Wagner's operas, as well as hundreds more composers and their masterpieces. This guide takes you on a journey through more than 1,000 years, charting the evolution of musical instruments, styles, and genres. Biographies of major and lesser-known composers offer rich insights into their music and the historical and cultural contexts that influenced their genius.

The book explores the features that defined each musical era - from the ornate brilliance of the Baroque, through the drama of Romantic music, to contemporary genres such as minimalism and electronic music. Timelines, quotes, and colour photographs give a voice to this music and the exceptionally gifted individuals who created it.

Product Details

Title: TheComplete Classical Music Guide
Author: John Burrows
SKU: BK0423641
EAN: 9780241422984
Language: English

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review

Recently viewed