There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheComplete MAUS

₹ 999

(Inclusive of all taxes)

  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints ha... Read More

Product Description

Art Spiegelman is a contributing editor and artist for the New Yorker. His drawings and prints have been exhibited in museums and galleries around the world. He won the Pulitzer Prize for Maus, which was also nominated for the National Book Critics Award. He lives in New York.The first masterpiece in comic book historyOne of the clichés about the Holocaust is that you can't imagine it - Spiegelman disproves this theoryA brutally moving work of artIn the tradition of Aesop and Orwell, it serves to shock and impart powerful resonance to a well-documented subject. The artwork is so accomplished, forceful and movingSpiegelman has turned the exuberant fantasy of comics inside out by giving us the most incredible fantasy in comics' history: something that actually occurred. Maus is terrifying not for its brutality, but for its tenderness and guiltAn epic story told in tiny picturesThe most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the HolocaustMaus is a book that cannot be put down, truly, even to sleep...when you finish Maus, you are unhappy to have left that magical world and long for the sequel that will return you to itA remarkable feat of documentary detail and novelistic vividness...an unfolding literary eventThe Pulitzer Prize-winning Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Maus approaches the unspeakable through the diminutive. Its form, the cartoon (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), shocks us out of any lingering sense of familiarity and succeeds in 'drawing us closer to the bleak heart of the Holocaust'A quiet triumph, moving and simple - impossible to describe accurately, and impossible to achieve in any medium but comicsAll too infrequently, a book comes along that' s as daring as it is acclaimed. Art Spiegelman's Maus is just such a bookA remarkable work, awesome in its conception and execution... at one and the same time a novel, a documentary, a memoir, and a comic book. Brilliant, just brilliantMaus is a masterpiece, and it's in the nature of such things to generate mysteries, and pose more questions than they answer. But if the notion of a canon means anything, Maus is there at the heart of it. Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspectSpiegelman's Maus changed comics forever. Comics now can be about anythingReading [his work] has been an amazing lesson in storytellingIt can be easy to forget how much of a game-changer Maus was.

The first and only graphic novel to win the Pulitzer Prize, MAUS is a brutally moving work of art about a Holocaust survivor -- and the son who survives him

'The first masterpiece in comic book history' The New Yorker


Maus tells the story of Vladek Spiegelman, a Jewish survivor of Hitler's Europe, and his son, a cartoonist coming to terms with his father's story. Approaching the unspeakable through the diminutive (the Nazis are cats, the Jews mice), Vladek's harrowing story of survival is woven into the author's account of his tortured relationship with his aging father.

Against the backdrop of guilt brought by survival, they stage a normal life of small arguments and unhappy visits, studying the bloody pawprints of history and tracking its meaning for those who come next.

HAILED AS THE GREATEST GRAPHIC NOVEL OF ALL TIME, THIS COMBINED, DEFINITIVE EDITION INCLUDES MAUS I: A SURVIVOR'S TALE AND MAUS II.
___________________________________________________________________________

'The most affecting and successful narrative ever done about the Holocaust' Wall Street Journal

'A brutally moving work of art' Boston Globe

'No summary can do justice to Spiegelman's narrative skill' Adam Gopnik

'Like all great stories, it tells us more about ourselves than we could ever suspect' Philip Pullman

'A capital-G Genius' Michael Chabon

Product Details

Title: TheComplete MAUS
Author: Art Spiegelman
SKU: BK0030068
EAN: 9780141014081
Language: English

About Author

Art Spiegelman has been a staff artist and contributing editor at the New Yorker, as well as the cofounder/coeditor of RAW, the acclaimed magazine of avant-garde comics and graphics. In addition to Maus - which was awarded the Pulitzer Prize and twice nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award - he is the author of Breakdowns and In the Shadow of No Towers. In September 2022, the National Book Foundation announced that he would receive the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. He lives in New York City with his wife, Françoise Mouly, and a cat named Voodoo.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed