There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheDevil and the Dark Water

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

The Devil and the Dark Water won the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Fiction 2020, was selecte... Read More

Product Description

The Devil and the Dark Water won the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Fiction 2020, was selected for the BBC 2 Book Club Between the Covers and the Radio 2 Jo Whiley Book Club, was acclaimed as a Book of the Year by the Guardian, Sunday Times and Daily Mail, among others, and has sold in excess of 18k copies to dateThe Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle won the Costa Best First Novel and was the second bestselling hardback crime debut in 2018, spending three weeks in the Sunday Times charts with over 20k hardbacks and over 175k paperbacks sold. It is currently being adapted as a seven-part series for Netflix UKThe Devil and the Dark Water, which sees Turton reinvent Sherlock Holmes for a whole new audience, will be a major publication for Raven Books, supported by an innovative and unmissable marketing, publicity and sales campaign to ensure this is one of the biggest paperbacks of 2021Stuart Turton's debut novel, the Sunday Times bestseller The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, won the Costa First Novel Award and was shortlisted for the Specsavers National Book Awards and the British Book Awards Debut of the Year. It has been translated into over thirty languages and has also been a bestseller in Italy, Russia and Poland. Stuart's highly acclaimed second novel, The Devil and the Dark Water, was shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, the HWA Gold Crown and the Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award. Stuart lives near London with his wife and daughter. @Stu_Turton CHOSEN AS A BOOK OF THE YEAR BY THE GUARDIAN, SUNDAY TIMES, DAILY MAIL, FINANCIAL TIMES, DAILY EXPRESS AND i PAPER 'A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling... A TRIUMPH' Will Dean 'If you read one book this year, make sure it's this one' Daily Mail

Three impossible crimes

Two unlikely detectives

One deadly voyage

It's 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world's greatest detective, is being transported from the Dutch East Indies to Amsterdam, where he is set to face trial for a crime that no one dares speak of. But no sooner is the ship out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. Strange symbols appear on the sails. A figure stalks the decks. Livestock are slaughtered. Passengers are plagued with ominous threats, promising them three unholy miracles. First: an impossible pursuit. Second: an impossible theft. Then: an impossible murder. With Pipps imprisoned in the depths of the ship, can his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes solve the mystery before the ship descends into anarchy? A beguiling historical mystery from the award-winning author of the dazzling The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle. 'Wildly inventive, Turton's tale defies definition as either historical fiction or crime novel, but provides all the pleasures of both genres and more. No novel this year was more fun to read' Sunday Times 'A glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan Doyle' Val McDermid 'A locked room murder mystery... by way of Treasure Island' Guardian SELECTED FOR THE BBC TWO BOOK CLUB BETWEEN THE COVERS AND THE RADIO 2 JO WHILEY BOOK CLUB SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA GOLD CROWN SHORTLISTED FOR THE GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD SHORTLISTED FOR THE CWA IAN FLEMING STEEL DAGGER AWARD The outstanding new novel from Stuart Turton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel award.It's a tad Holmes and Watson, a touch Treasure Island, but there's so much else, too; the lives of women at the time, the contemporary obsession with witchcraft and most of all the authentic stink, creak, superstition and slop of life on board an Indiaman, roaring sailors and all. If you read one book this year, make sure it's this oneBrilliant... intoxicating... There are some great villains and terrific heroes, especially the gentle (and gory) giant Hayes.The Devil and the Dark Water overflows with wonderful descriptions, neat similes, and enough horror, mystery, and crime to keep anyone enthralledThink of a Holmes and Watson-style duo operating in a Pirates Of The Caribbean-style universe, complete with a demon with a love for Faustian pacts, a secret invention called The Folly and a leper who has seemingly survived being consumed by flames . A rollicking adventure yarnThe Devil and the Dark Water is all about narrative pleasure . The locked room murder meets a Michael Bay movie, by way of Treasure Island; you can't know what's going on, if only because the author won't let you know until he's delivered the final surprise - and another one after that. The effect is irresistible. Turton has got his world up and running inside the first two pages; thereafter, deceptions and diversions multiply until the ultimate, outrageous reveal, at which point the dark water turns out to be rather darker than you imagined[Turton's] second book is an even more exuberant demonstration of his storytelling skills . Wildly inventive, Turton's tale defies definition as either historical fiction or crime novel, but provides all the pleasures of both genres and moreA rollicking tale of devils, lepers and witchfindersAn imaginative tour de forceTurton's prose is jaunty and vivid. And unlike most whodunits I wouldn't recommend it for pre-lights-out reading - not just because of the spooky bits, but because such a lovingly complex construct needs readers who are fully awakeA genre sampling epic that sets outrageous traps for the reader and builds an atmosphere of dread up to an operatic final twistA glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan DoyleStunningly good. A page-turning mystery on an epic scale, intricately plotted and expertly landedNo novel this year was more fun to read than this baroque tale of adventure A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling. I fell for this book (and its characters) in a big way. Beautifully crafted escapism for fans of Sherlock and Master & Commander. A TRIUMPHStuart Turton has done it again. The Devil and the Dark Water is mind bending, genre bending, intricate, vivid, intelligent and with one of the most gloriously grizzly cast of characters ever. An absolute razztwizzler of a novel!The desperate life on board an Amsterdam-bound Dutch Indiamen has never been so vividly painted. Throw in a demon (who may or may not exist), a cast of beautifully realised, compelling characters along with a series of locked room mysteries and the result is one of the most extraordinary books being published this yearAn absolute treat from the most original voice in crime fictionTurton ?its between characters with trademark intricacy, the plot tossing around on the high seas. Each crest and fall adds to the bewilderingly compelling story, culminating in a completely unpredictable yet thoroughly satisfying endingI can think of few writers who conjure up twists and mysterious happenings with such unflagging gusto and sheer infectious pleasure . It's a great readTurton's debut The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle was a hard act to follow, but lightning has struck twice ... A genre-sampling epic that sets outrageous traps for the reader and builds an atmosphere of dreadA fiendish maritime mystery, [involving] a lot of secrets and a great deal of swash and buckleStunning historical fantasy set at sea . Holmes and Watson meets Treasure Island[A] vibrant mix of history, fantasy and detective fiction . With its rollicking plot and swarming cast, Turton's novel invites readers to sit back and embrace its strange enchantments Superb voice, visually wonderful, with dizzying plot twists; outstanding

Product Details

Title: TheDevil and the Dark Water
Author: Stuart Turton
SKU: BK0429547
EAN: 9781408889534

About Author

Stuart Turton's debut novel, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, won the Costa First Novel Award and the Books Are My Bag Readers Award for Best Novel, and was shortlisted for the Specsavers National Book Awards and the British Book Awards Debut of the Year. A Sunday Times bestseller for three weeks, it has been translated into over thirty languages and has also been a bestseller in Italy, Russia and Poland. Stuart lives near London with his wife and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed