There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheDevil Takes You Home

₹ 899

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Gabino is a writer, journalist, professor, and literary critic living in Austin, TX. He is also t... Read More

Product Description

Gabino is a writer, journalist, professor, and literary critic living in Austin, TX. He is also the author of the critically-acclaimed and award-winning novels Zero Saints and Coyote Songs, which racked up nominations for the Bram Stoker Award, the Locus Award and the Wonderland Book Award (the latter of which Gabino won for Coyote Songs).

As well as writing Gabino is a reviewer, author of non-fiction, and has been a juror for the Shirley Jackson Awards twice and the Millions Tournament of Books.

Father. Husband. Hitman. He lost it all - he'll kill to get it back.

Perfect read for fans of Breaking Bad and Stephen King.
*GUARDIAN BEST CRIME AND THRILLER BOOKS OF 2022*
*SHORTLISTED FOR THE BEST NOVEL PRIZE AT THE 2023 EDGAR AWARDS*

"Some of the finest, most terrifying and heartbreaking writing you will read this year. The Devil Takes You Home is not to be missed."
S.A. Cosby, New York Times-bestselling author of Razorblade Tears and Blacktop Wasteland

"The Devil Takes You Home is an unforgettable neo-noir nightmare written with a poet's heart."
Steve Cavanagh, bestselling author of the Eddie Flynn series

"Complete horror sung by an angel. I was transfixed. This is superb writing." Harriet Tyce, bestselling author of Blood Orange

"Gives the genre a welcome shot in the arm." Guardian

'Sometimes God is your copilot, but it's the Devil who takes you home.'

It was never just a job. Becoming a hitman was the only way Mario could cover his young daughter's medical expenses. But before long his family is left in pieces, and he's barely even put a dent in the stack of bills.

Then he's presented with an offer: one last score that will either pull him out of poverty forever or put a bullet in the back of his skull. A man named Juanca needs help stealing $2 million dollars from a drug cartel.

Together, they begin a journey to an underworld where unspeakable horrors happen every day. He's a man with nothing to lose, but the Devil is waiting for him.

Wrestling with demons of our world and beyond, this blistering thriller charts the unforgettable quest of a husband and father in search of his lost soul.

An extremely powerful and gripping thriller, the perfect read for fans of Breaking Bad and Stephen King.

"Some of the finest, most terrifying and heartbreaking writing you will read this year. The Devil Takes You Home is not to be missed." S.A. Cosby, New York Times-bestselling author of Razorblade Tears and Blacktop Wasteland

"The Devil Takes You Home is an unforgettable neo-noir nightmare written with a poet's heart."
Steve Cavanagh, bestselling author of the Eddie Flynn series

"Every time you think the book got quiet, it screams again." Josh Malerman, New York Times-bestselling author of Bird Box and Daphne

"An unforgettable ride." Lisa Gray, bestselling author of the Jessica Shaw series

A gut-wrenching, fast-paced thriller set on the US-Mexico border. Perfect for fans of Stephen King, Don Winslow and Lovecraft Country.Some of the finest, most terrifying and heartbreaking writing you will read this year. The Devil Takes You Home is not to be missed.The Devil Takes You Home is an unforgettable neo-noir nightmare written with a poet's heart.Complete horror sung by an angel. I was transfixed. This is superb writing.Gives the genre a welcome shot in the armHere there be bloodshed, oh yes, sudden lyrical frenzies peppers over the main course of calamity. Every time you think the book got quiet, it screams again.A ragged-edged bloody bullet-hole of a book.Brutal, bloody and brilliant. This book will thrill and terrify in equal measures and it'll break your heart. An unforgettable ride.[A] haunting noir thriller...a borderlands odyssey that blends noir and magical realismMasterful. [A] brawny, serpentine and remarkably poignant novel.A meditation on grief and rage.Though a young writer, Gabino Iglesias writes with the authority of a writer who's been down this road many times before. Iglesias' prose is smooth where smooth is called for and rough or a bit mean when smooth won't work.Sears itself into your mind-a book that cannot be unread.Utterly compelling, absolutely brutal, terrifying and heartbreaking - but these words barely sum it up.The Devil Takes You Home is an incredible slice of horror-noir, utterly unique and unlike anything I've read beforeA page-turner with attitude...don't miss it.A brutal and brilliant novel. Brace yourself for the ride-this is his best work yet.Brilliantly written, Iglesias has created a riveting character that leaps off the page and will stay with you long after you close the book.The Devil Takes You Home is a new kind of fiction, profoundly moving, despairing and scary all at once.The Devil Takes You Home is a wild ride through grief, faith, loss and monstrosity. Gabino Iglesias's sharp prose and visceral, haunting vision have birthed a riveting novel no reader will soon forget. Fresh and genuinely scary.With a noir voice reminiscent of Jim Thompson, this book charges into rage and despair, sparing no one, least of all the reader. Strap yourself in.Some nightmares you wake from just leave you in an even worse nightmare. And then Gabino Iglesias holds his hand out from that darkness, takes you home.The Devil Takes You Home is carried by a voice and rhythm, shaving sharp and wholly indelible. Iglesias never fails to keep a masterful foot on the pedal, feathering off the gas at times only to inevitably press it to the floor and pin us to our seats.Pure noir, overflowing with the rage and sorrow of our times, The Devil Takes You Home is brutal, hallucinatory, and somehow, beautiful. This novel confirms what some of us already knew: Gabino Iglesias is a fierce, vital voice.The line between noir and horror not only gets blurred in Iglesias's The Devil Takes You Home; it gets obliterated. His barrio noir is a new kind of fiction, profoundly moving, despairing and scary all at once.An excellent crime novel driven by righteous grief, fierce narration, and raw violence. Iglesias takes us on a vivid exploration of pain and rage, along the Southwest border where the horrors of reality and the supernatural intertwine.A dark and disturbing tunnel into another world, Iglesias deftly walks the line between beautiful and haunting. A tense and unapologetic story, I devoured this in a weekend, my eyes widening with every unflinching word.The Devil Takes You Home is an almighty powder keg of a novel that explodes across the page, filling the reader with shock, awe, terror and pity. A hypnotic marriage between jet-black narco noir and magic realism, it's a high-octane road trip you'll never forget.Full of violent truths, The Devil Takes You Home is one of the best books I have read in a long time. An incredible, unforgettable read.Brutally poeticA gory journey through Texas and Mexican border towns. The incongruity of devotion to family with brutal vigilante justice creates dreadful tension as Mario tests his new moral compass.A thriller you will never forget. Hard-hitting like a punch to your gut.The killer ending is a reminder of Iglesias' mastery of the noir format. The Devil Takes You Home is one of those books that gets better the more you think about it.If Quentin Tarantino collaborated with Stephen King on a hair-trigger film for Magnum-era Clint Eastwood, this could be it. A sledgehammer story with explosive Sicario-like violence from a flawed hero you'll care about.Tense and gripping. An absolute must for all fans of American dark noir fiction.The Devil Takes You Home just might be the most incredible book I read this year; it left me speechless

It was never just a job. Becoming a hitman was the only way Mario could cover his young daughter's medical expenses. But before long his family is left in pieces, and he's barely even put a dent in the stack of bills.

Then he's presented with an offer: one last score that will either pull him out of poverty forever or put a bullet in the back of his skull. A man named Juanca needs help stealing $2 million dollars from a drug cartel.

Together, they begin a journey to an underworld where unspeakable horrors happen every day. He's a man with nothing to lose, but the Devil is waiting for him.

Wrestling with demons of our world and beyond, this blistering thriller charts the unforgettable quest of a husband and father in search of his lost soul.

[Wildfire logo]
£20

Product Details

Title: TheDevil Takes You Home
Author: Gabino Iglesias
SKU: BK0461137
EAN: 9781472291066
Language: English

About Author

Gabino is a writer, journalist, professor, and literary critic living in Austin, TX. He is also the author of the critically-acclaimed and award-winning novels Zero Saints and Coyote Songs, which racked up nominations for the Bram Stoker Award, the Locus Award and the Wonderland Book Award (the latter of which Gabino won for Coyote Songs).

As well as writing Gabino is a reviewer, author of non-fiction, and has been a juror for the Shirley Jackson Awards twice and the Millions Tournament of Books.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed