There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

TheExile

₹ 699

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Rigorously sourced, with revelatory and newsworthy primary research material, dug up using a care... Read More

Product Description

Rigorously sourced, with revelatory and newsworthy primary research material, dug up using a career's worth of contacts made in South Asia, the Middle East, Europe and the US.A book that starts in the recent, notorious past, comes right up to the present day, then looks ahead to what is to come.For fans of Zero Dark Thirty, The Hurt Locker and the second series of Serial.It is a book that looks at the global picture, moving from Afghanistan to Pakistan, from Tehran to the volatile Islamist strong-holds of fractious southern Yemen, and on to Washington and London.For fans of Farewell Kabul by Christina Lamb, The Unravelling by Emma Sky, Manhunt by Peter Bergen and the writings of Robert Fisk and Patrick Cockburn.The authors are well-connected and respected in the media and have worked in print, online and broadcast journalism, contributing frequently to the BBC and the BBC World ServiceThe authors' last book, The Siege, won both the CWA Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction in 2013 and the Ramnath Goenka Award for Excellence in Journalism as India's best non-fiction book in 2014.Adrian Levy and Cathy Scott-Clark are the authors of several books, most recently the acclaimed The Siege: Trapped Inside the Taj Hotel. Run or Hide?, published by Penguin in 2013. For sixteen years they worked as foreign correspondents and investigative reporters for the Sunday Times and the Guardian. In 2009 the One World Trust named them British Journalists of the Year, having won Foreign Correspondents of the Year in 2004. They co-produce documentaries which have been nominated at the Amnesty International Media Awards and the Edinburgh International Television Festival, and longlisted at the BAFTAs. Currently they are filming several new projects in South Asia.The extraordinary inside story of Osama bin Laden and Al Qaeda in the years after 9/11. Following the attacks on the Twin Towers, Osama bin Laden, the most wanted man in the world, eluded intelligence services and Special Forces units for almost a decade. Using remarkable, first-person testimony from bin Laden's family and closest aides, The Exile chronicles this astonishing tale of evasion, collusion and isolation. In intimate detail, The Exile reveals not only the frantic attack on Afghanistan by the United States in their hunt for bin Laden but also how and why, when they found his family soon after, the Bush administration rejected the chance to seize them. It charts the formation of ISIS, and uncovers the wasted opportunity to kill its Al Qaeda-sponsored founder; it explores the development of the CIA's torture programme; it details Iran's secret shelter for bin Laden's family and Al Qaeda's military council; and it captures the power struggles, paranoia and claustrophobia within the Abbottabad house prior to the raid. A landmark work of investigation and reportage, The Exile is as authoritative as it is compelling, and essential reading for anyone concerned with history, security and future relations with the Islamic world.The extraordinary inside story of Osama bin Laden and Al Qaeda in the years after 9/11Absolutely spine-chilling, breathless, heart-rending, astonishing. So hard to put downPropulsive, intense, exceedingly well-reported . . . a tragedy and a thriller with concussive human and political resonance. I read it in what felt like three blinksCompulsive and brilliantly researched. Reads like a fast-paced thrillerBy tracking down the myriad bin Laden family members, associates and al-Qaeda members that inhabit this huge tour-de-force of a read, the authors have brought the personality of bin Laden into a sharper focus than could ever have been imagined. The detail mustered is little short of incredible, and evidently the result of forensic research only the best of investigative journalists could dig out . Big it might be, but it is also a page-turner. There have been many books before on bin Laden and al-Qaeda, but this is one of the bestThis book is a tour de force and the first detailed account told by al-Qaeda members themselves, making good use of the diaries of Abu Zubaydah, the captured al-Qaeda facilitator, as well as extensive interviews with one of its religious thinkers . It tells us lots of things we knew, but in far more detailRemarkable . They have produced the best account yet of what happened to al-Qaida after 9/11: it is an astonishingly good piece of workThe authors have tracked down and spoken with many of the participants, including senior al-Qaeda members and close relatives of Osama bin Laden, which in itself is a piece of outstanding journalistic bravery. As a result, the book has an impact and immediacy far stronger than much of the other literature on the subject. Scott-Clark and Levy deserve huge credit for thisDetailed and meticulous, the book tackles the subject from all angles, providing a panoramic view of the subject and acting to enlighten and inform the reader . at once fascinating and heady

Product Details

Title: TheExile
Author: Adrian LevyCatherine Scott-Clark
SKU: BK0252968
EAN: 9781408892534

About Author

Adrian Levy is an internationally renowned and award-winning investigative journalist who worked as a staff writer and foreign correspondent for the Sunday Times for seven years before joining the Guardian as senior correspondent. He is co-author, with Catherine Scott-Clark, of two highly acclaimed books, The Amber Room: The Fate of the World's Greatest Lost Treasure, and The Stone of Heaven: Unearthing the Secret History of Imperial Green Jade. He has reported from South Asia for more than a decade, and now lives in London and in France.Catherine Scott-Clark is an internationally renowned and award-winning investigative journalist who worked as a staff writer and foreign correspondent for the Sunday Times for seven years before joining the Guardian as senior correspondent. She is co-author, with Adrian Levy, of two highly acclaimed books, The Amber Room: The Fate of the World's Greatest Lost Treasure, and The Stone of Heaven: Unearthing the Secret History of Imperial Green Jade. She has reported from South Asia for more than a decade, and now lives in London and in France.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed