There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheGospel Singer

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

CELEBRATED FIRST NOVEL: New to Penguin Classics, The Gospel Singer is one of Harry Crews' most la... Read More

Product Description

CELEBRATED FIRST NOVEL: New to Penguin Classics, The Gospel Singer is one of Harry Crews' most lauded achievementsSOUTHERN GOTHIC: The perfect novel for fans of Cormac McCarthy, Flannery O'Connor, Carson McCullers or even Nick CaveIncludes an introduction by best-selling novelist Kevin WilsonHarry Crews (Author)
Harry Crews (1935-2012) was born during the Great Depression in rural Georgia, USA. He is the author of seventeen novels and a memoir, often revolving around poor and disenfranchised characters from the Deep South. Crews taught creative writing at the University of Florida for nearly thirty years, mentoring and inspiring a generation of writers and gaining the reputation of a literary outsider and outlaw with a singular voice in American fiction. He is today considered a pillar of the Southern Gothic tradition.

The poor town of Enigma, Georgia awaits the return of its most famous son - the Gospel Singer. With the voice of an angel and, it is said, the touch of a healer, he is fresh from the cover of LIFE and the cheers of the Carnegie Hall crowd. And yet, for all his fame, something drives him back to his obscure past, to small-town idolization and half-forgotten deeds. There, before the crowds that have gathered at his feet, he will reveal the cruelty at the heart of his act ...

The Gospel Singer, Harry Crews' extraordinary debut novel, is at once a surreal investigation into the nature of the American South, as well as an intricate mediation on faith and its place in the community.

Product Details

Title: TheGospel Singer
Author: Harry CrewsKevin Wilson
SKU: BK0470481
EAN: 9780143135098
Language: English

About Author

Harry Crews (1935-2012) was born during the Great Depression in rural Georgia, USA. He is the author of seventeen novels and a memoir, often revolving around poor and disenfranchised characters from the Deep South. Crews taught creative writing at the University of Florida for nearly thirty years, mentoring and inspiring a generation of writers and gaining the reputation of a literary outsider and outlaw with a singular voice in American fiction. He is today considered a pillar of the Southern Gothic tradition.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed