There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

TheGreat Experiment

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

A rigorous examination of multicultural democracies and an essential guide to one of humanity's g... Read More

Product Description

A rigorous examination of multicultural democracies and an essential guide to one of humanity's greatest challenges, offering a compelling and authoritative argument that is ultimately hopefulYascha Mounk's academic reputation and expertise give this book serious intellectual credibility. His previous book, The People vs. Democracy was critically acclaimed, a New York Times Book Review Editor's Choice and included in the Financial Times Books of the Year 2018For readers of Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny (over 24K TCM), Anne Applebaum's Gulag: A History (over 90K TCM) and Pankaj Mishra's Age of Anger (over 10K TCM)Yascha Mounk is a writer, academic, and public speaker known for his work on the rise of populism and the crisis of liberal democracy. A contributing editor at the Atlantic, where he has a regular column, his journalism has also appeared in the New Yorker and Harper's, among other outlets. He is currently an Associate Professor of International Affairs at Johns Hopkins University and a term member of the Council on Foreign Relations. His most recent book, The People vs. Democracy, was published by Harvard University Press in 2018.'Anyone interested in the future of liberal democracy should read this book' ANNE APPLEBAUM One of our most important political thinkers looks to the greatest challenge of our time: how to live together equally and peacefully in diverse democracies. It's easy to be pessimistic about the fate of democracy in multi-ethnic societies. At the end of the Second World War, fewer than one in twenty-five people living in the UK were born abroad; now it is one in seven. The history of humankind is a story of us versus them, and the project of diverse democracies is a relatively new one - it is, in other words, a great experiment. How do identity groups with different ideologies and beliefs live together? Is it possible to embark on a democracy with shared values if our values are at odds? Yascha Mounk argues that group identity is both deeply rooted and malleable. No community is beyond conciliation: groups are moving towards cooperation across the world. The Great Experiment offers a profound understanding of the problem behind all our other problems, and genuine hope for our capacity to solve it.From one of our sharpest and most important political thinkers comes a big-picture vision of the greatest challenge of our time: how to bridge the bitter divides within diverse democracies enough for them to remain stable and functionalCan diverse democracies flourish? The Great Experiment is a bold and necessary counter-argument to nativists, populists and pessimists The Great Experiment confronts the intense challenges faced today by diverse societies in creating norms and institutions that allow their citizens to live peacefully with one another. It moves from insightful analysis of our current crisis to practical suggestions on how to mitigate conflicts over race and identity-a blueprint for a more optimistic future.A convincing, humane, and hopeful guide to the present and future by one of our foremost democratic thinkersIn The Great Experiment, Yascha Mounk shows us our history, our psychology, our self-inflicted wounds, and our best hope for creating stable democracies that benefit from diversity. This magnificent book increases our odds of successIn this brave and necessary book, Yascha Mounk honestly confronts the challenges to democracy posed by diverse, multiethnic societies, while at the same time refusing to give in to fashionable pessimism. He argues that we can and should find ways to build common ground, using good-faith patriotism to build consensus. Anyone interested in the future of liberal democracy, in the US or anywhere else, should read this book.

Product Details

Title: TheGreat Experiment
Author: Yascha Mounk
SKU: BK0446627
EAN: 9781526630148
Language: English

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed