There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

TheHouse at Bishopsgate

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Set in Jacobean England, this lavish, colourful work of historical fiction will appeal to fans of... Read More

Product Description

Set in Jacobean England, this lavish, colourful work of historical fiction will appeal to fans of The Miniaturist and The Architect's Apprentice.Katie Hickman is the bestselling author of two history books, Courtesans and Daughters of Britannia. The House at Bishopsgate is researched with a historian's eye and written with a novelist's depth and sweep.Kate Hickman's novels The Aviary Gate and The Pindar Diamond have sold in nineteen countries. This vividly evoked historical novel shows her writing at the height of its powers.Katie Hickman is the author of seven previous titles, including two bestselling history books, Courtesans and Daughters of Britannia. She has written two travel books, one of which, Travels with a Mexican Circus, was shortlisted for the Thomas Cook Travel Book Award. She was shortlisted for the Sunday Times Young British Writer of the Year award for her novel The Quetzal Summer, and her novels The Aviary Gate and The Pindar Diamond have sold in nineteen countries. Katie Hickman lives in London. www.katiehickman.com / @PindarDiamond1611. James I has recently succeeded to the throne and the Elizabethan age is over. A new artistic and intellectual Renaissance comes to England. As trade routes open up, a rich and cosmopolitan middle class emerges, with an interest in architecture, gardens and textiles. Seven years after he was all but destroyed in his quest to take possession of the Pindar Diamond, Levant Company merchant and former ambassador to Constantinople Paul Pindar returns triumphantly to England. Now one of the wealthiest merchants in London, he brings with him his wife, Celia Lamprey, the Englishwoman with whom, after many vicissitudes, he has at last been united. His great house on Bishopsgate has stood empty for ten years. Now, a phalanx of carpenters, upholsterers and gardeners have been summoned to restore it to its former glory. But all is not as it seems. Celia is frail, and their marriage, despite Celia's longing, is childless. Pindar arranges for Celia's old friend, Annetta, to join them from Venice as Celia's companion. But Annetta arrives to find that another woman, the widow Frances Sydenham, has insinuated herself into the Pindar household. Lady Sydenham seems to have a mysterious hold over Celia and, Annetta suspects, increasingly over Paul Pindar himself.From the Sunday Times bestselling author comes a haunting, magical story set in 17th century London, perfect for fans of The Miniaturist A hugely enjoyable novel, multi-layered, vividly depicted and a fascinating story . fast moving, complex and deeply satisfyingKatie Hickman will take you to a magical land . There are luscious descriptions . This is a box of Turkish delight. EnjoyA sensuously involving second novel. Teasing, erotic, suspenseful and expertly doneVivid and compelling . Her style is light and clear, and there are occasional gems of description . Delightful

Product Details

Title: TheHouse at Bishopsgate
Author: Katie Hickman
SKU: BK0413251
EAN: 9781408882214

About Author

Katie Hickman is the author of six previous books, including two bestselling history books, Courtesans and Daughters of Britannia. She has written two travel books: Travels with a Circus, about her experiences travelling with a Mexican circus, which was shortlisted for the 1993 Thomas Cook Travel Book Award, and Dreams of the Peaceful Dragon, about a journey on horseback through the forbidden Himalayan kingdom of Bhutan. She was shortlisted for the Sunday Times Young British Writer of the Year award for her novel The Quetzal Summer. Katie Hickman lives in London with her two children and her husband, the philosopher A.C. Grayling.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed