There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

TheLight in Everything

₹ 399

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Written in Katya's inimitable, beautiful style, this is a moving story that deals with blended fa... Read More

Product Description

Written in Katya's inimitable, beautiful style, this is a moving story that deals with blended families and getting a new siblingGorgeous cover and vignette illustrations by CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal-winning illustrator Sydney Smith make this a really special packageKatya's debut novel, THE SPACE WE'RE IN, was highly commended for the Branford Boase award, and longlisted for the CILIP Carnegie medalPerfect for fans of David Almond, Onjali Q. Rauf and Lisa ThompsonTHE LIGHT IN EVERYTHING is told from the dual perspectives of shy, sensitive Tom and wild, impulsive Zofia - readers will fall in love with them bothKatya Balen is an award-winning author of books for children. Katya's debut novel, The Space We're In, was published in 2019 and was highly commended for the Branford Boase Award. Her second, October, October, won the Yoto Carnegie Medal. Her third novel, The Light in Everything, was published in 2022. When she's not writing books, Katya likes to scroll through dog-rescue websites, bake, and attempt to keep all her house plants alive. She lives in London with her partner and their dogs Raffi and Mouse. Sydney Smith is a children's book illustrator. He lives in Canada with his wife and two sons. His picture books have won numerous awards, including the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal, which he has now won twice._______________ 'Original, compulsive, uplifting: this is another triumph for Balen' - Alex O'Connell, The Times Children's Book of the Week 'Balen's best book yet: ambitious, funny, spirited, moving, heartfelt and bold all at once. She's a force to be reckoned with' - Ross Montgomery _______________ From the author of October, October, winner of the Yoto Carnegie Medal 2022, comes a life-affirming story about blended families and learning to find room in your heart for new life and new love. Tom is still quiet and timid, even though his dad has been gone for nearly two years now. Zofia is the opposite. Inside her there's a raging storm that makes her want to fight the whole world until she gets what she wants. And what she wants is for scaredy-cat Tom to get out of her life. Tom hates loud, unpredictable Zofia just as much, but he's moving into Zofia's house. Because his mum and Zofia's dad are in love . and they're having a baby. Tom and Zofia both wish the stupid baby had never happened. But then Tom's mum gets ill, and it begins to look horribly like their wish might come true . A story of learning to trust, trying to let go and diving into the unknown with hope in your heart, with a stunning cover illustrated by CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal winner Sydney Smith. _______________From the author of October, October, shortlisted for the Yoto Carnegie Medal 2022, comes a life-affirming story about blended families and learning to find room in your heart for new life and new love.I love Katya Balen's clear-eyed, poetic writing style, first encountered in The Space We're In and October, October. She has a special ability to dig deep into the emotional lives of the children she writes about; she is always privy to their darkest thoughts, always on their side. Original, compulsive, uplifting: this is another triumph for Balen.This is Balen's best book yet: ambitious, funny, spirited, moving, heartfelt and bold all at once. She's a force to be reckoned withThis story literally took me by storm. A brave heart-dive into the deep emotions of Tom and Zofia, it's beautifully told with care and tendernessI loved this book. The deftness with which Katya creates such passionate, funny, broken, brave characters. What an achievement. Katya Balen can break your heart and make you snort with laughter in the same sentenceKatya Balen is rapidly becoming one of my favourite writers. This is a beautiful book that will capture you from the first page. An incredible book by an incredible writer. I loved itA bold, bright story of blended families, and how two remarkable children cope when their lives change dramatically. Katya Balen's writing fizzes with her trademark originality and voice. This is another stunningly good read from one of my favourite authorsI loved this bookHeartbreaking and heart-warming in equal measure - warm, compassionate, insightful, lyrical, beautiful and upliftingI absolutely LOVE all Katya's writing and I adored reading this book. It's such a beautiful, subtle story which just transported me into the worlds of Zofia and Tom and like all the very finest stories, it has left a little shard of those lives within it lodged deep in my heartA sensitive story about stitching a new family together from frayed pieces. So vividly imagined you can taste the salt in the airThe Light in Everything is a moving, truthful, unflinching close up of a story, that proves how difficult it can be being a human among other humans, but how rewarding too when you allow yourself the space to breatheKatya Balen's October, October is a very special new addition to the shelf and deserves classic statusQuite simply one of the most beautiful books I've ever readOctober, October is fierce with a wild love. It draws you in to its heart, shakes you with a fury, wraps you in a spell of storytelling. In lyrical prose, Katya Balen gives us a modern day heroine filled with courage. I loved every pageWise and bright - I loved it.It's EXQUISITE. Read it. Wild yourself. Open your heart to it. Written with the pen of a poet and the soul of Mother Earth. Glorious. It's like nothing else I've ever read. Liz Hyder on OCTOBER, OCTOBERThe most wonderful, original treasure of a storyI've also just been introduced to the first two stunning children's books by Katya Balen, both published by Bloomsbury: The Space We're In and October, October. If you have a middle-grader, or know one, or are one ... treat yourselfOne of the most beautiful children's books I've ever readA tear-jerker about family that shows us things that are important and true, and promotes compassionThis sensitive, heartbreaking story boasts a wonderful narrative voice and secret codes that add another layer of intrigueNow and then, and only now and then, a book changes us. The Space We're In does that. It's ferocious and it's visionary

Product Details

Title: TheLight in Everything
Author: Katya BalenSydney Smith
SKU: BK0447084
EAN: 9781526647405

About Author

Katya Balen studied English at university. She is now a writer and is co-director of Mainspring Arts. Her debut novel, The Space We're In, was highly commended for the Branford Boase Award 2020. Her second book, October, October, published to critical acclaim in the same year and is the winner of the Yoto Carnegie Medal 2022. Her third book, The Light in Everything, was published in 2022. When she's not writing books or planning projects, she likes to scroll through dog-rescue websites, bake and attempt to keep all her house plants alive. She lives in London with her partner and their dogs Raffi and Mouse.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed