There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheLong Dark Tea-Time of the Soul

₹ 550

(Inclusive of all taxes)

  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Rich and endlessly entertainingAn astonishing comic writerA pleasure to readFew recent writers ha... Read More

Product Description

Rich and endlessly entertainingAn astonishing comic writerA pleasure to readFew recent writers have had such an infectious prose style as Adams. With his fondness for paradox, his galactic perspective on things and his wonderful way with meaningful nonsense his are the books which have launched a trillion quipsFunnier than Psycho . . . more chilling than Jeeves Takes Charge . . . shorter than War and Peace . . . the second Dirk Gently novel, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul.

The second Dirk Gently book by Douglas Adams, The Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul is a witty detective story perfect for fans of his phenomenally successful The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy.

When a passenger check-in desk at Terminal Two, Heathrow Airport, shot up through the roof engulfed in a ball of orange flame, the usual people tried to claim responsibility. First the IRA, then the PLO and the Gas Board. Even British Nuclear Fuels rushed out a statement to the effect that the situation was completely under control, that it was a one in a million chance, that there was hardly any radioactive leakage at all and that the site of the explosion would make a nice location for a day out with the kids and a picnic, before finally having to admit that it wasn't actually anything to do with them at all.

No rational cause could be found for the explosion – it was simply designated an act of God. But, thinks Dirk Gently, which God? And why? What God would be hanging around Terminal Two of Heathrow Airport trying to catch the 15:37 to Oslo?

'A thumping good detective-ghost-horror-who dunnit-time travel-romantic-musical-comedy-epic' - Douglas Adams, on Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency.

Continue this surreal series with the unfinished The Salmon of Doubt.

Douglas Adams created all the various and contradictory manifestations of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy: radio, novels, TV, computer game, stage adaptations, comic book and bath towel. He lectured and broadcast around the world and was a patron of the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund and Save the Rhino International. Douglas Adams was born in Cambridge, UK and lived with his wife and daughter in Islington, London, before moving to Santa Barbara, California, where he died suddenly in 2001.Douglas Adams’ Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency is undeniably a cult classic. It is also, in the immortal words of the author himself, a ‘thumping good detective-ghost-horror-who dunnit-time travel-romantic-musical-comedy-epic’. You don’t get much more holistic than that. Along with the equally surreal sequel, The Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul, (which co-stars Thor, God of Thunder, God of Rain, God of the High Towering Clouds, God of – you get the picture) Douglas Adams’ answer to Sherlock Holmes has perplexed and delighted readers for decades. Fans of Terry Pratchett, Jasper Fforde, PG Wodehouse and of course the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series will revel in the warmth and whimsical humour of these novels – which have spawned not one, but two TV series.

Product Details

Title: TheLong Dark Tea-Time of the Soul
SKU: BK0474170
EAN: 9781529034592
Language: English
Binding: Paperback

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed