There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheMad Women's Ball

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

AMAZING ENDORSEMENTS AND REVIEWS: 'A darkly sumptuous tale of wicked spectacle' EMMA STONEX, auth... Read More

Product Description

AMAZING ENDORSEMENTS AND REVIEWS: 'A darkly sumptuous tale of wicked spectacle' EMMA STONEX, author of THE LAMPLIGHTERS; '[A] darkly delightful Gothic treasure' PAULA HAWKINS, author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN; 'I have absolutely no doubt it will be one of my favourite novels of 2021.' AJ PEARCE, author of DEAR MRS BIRD; widespread review coverage including Times, Literary Review, Arts, Cosmo, Mail, huge interview in Independent and chosen by Mariella Frostrup for interview on Times radio.RUNAWAY BESTSELLER IN FRANCE: The novel was the bestselling debut of the year in France and has already sold over 250,000 copies there, with rights now sold globally in over 22 languagesFILM RIGHTS were snapped up immediately by Legende films and this will be Amazon Prime's first ever French film - directed by Melanie Laurent who starred in Quentin Tarantino's Inglourious Basterds. The film premiered at the Toronto film festival in September 2021 and launched on Prime globally on September 17th.PRIZE-WINNING: In France, the novel has already won The Prix Stanislas, the Prix Premiere Plume, the Prix Premier Roman, the Prix Patrimoine BPE and the Prix Renaudot des Prix Renaudot des Lycéens. It was also on the longlist for the Prix Femina (France's equivalent of The Women's Prize), and the Prix France Culture.AUDIENCE: accessible historical with a strong female angle, so perfect for fans of The Familiars (32K hbs; 101K pbs TCM) or The Doll Factory (21K hbs; 22K pbs), with a touch of The Handmaid's Tale and the bestselling appeal of Lullaby 33K TPB; 80K pbs TCM)..AUTHOR: Debut novel by a young French author who has worked in the film industry. She is the daughter of Jeanne Mas, a well-known singer in France.The Mad Women's Ball is Victoria Mas's debut novel. It has won several prizes in France (including the Prix Stanislas and Prix Renaudot des Lycéens) and was the bestselling debut of the year. Victoria has worked in film in the United States, where she lived for eight years. She graduated from the Sorbonne in Contemporary Literature.The Mad Women's Ball is now an Amazon Prime Video Original Film starring Mélanie Laurent and Lou de Louâge.

'A darkly sumptuous tale of wicked spectacle, wild injustice and the insuppressible strength of women' EMMA STONEX, author of THE LAMPLIGHTERS

'An essential story of women resisting the unjust exertion of male power' SUNDAY TIMES

____________________

The Salpêtrière asylum, 1885. All of Paris is in thrall to Doctor Charcot and his displays of hypnotism on women who have been deemed mad or hysterical, outcasts from society. But the truth is much more complicated - for these women are often simply inconvenient, unwanted wives or strong-willed daughters. Once a year a grand ball is held at the hospital. For the Parisian elite, the Mad Women's Ball is the highlight of the social season; for the women themselves, it is a rare moment of hope.

Geneviève is a senior nurse. After the childhood death of her sister, she has shunned religion and placed her faith in Doctor Charcot and his new science. But everything begins to change when she meets Eugénie, the 19-year-old daughter of a bourgeois family. Because Eugénie has a secret, and she needs Geneviève's help. Their fates will collide on the night of the Mad Women's Ball...

____________________

'In this darkly delightful Gothic treasure, Mas explores grief, trauma and sisterhood behind the walls of Paris' infamous Salpetriere hospital' PAULA HAWKINS, author of A SLOW FIRE BURNING

'A beautifully written debut...I have absolutely no doubt it will be one of my favourite novels of 2021.' AJ PEARCE, author of DEAR MRS BIRD

'Essential reading' COSMOPOLITAN

'A deftly woven tale of hope and pain, judgement and redemption, cruelty and kindness. Utterly captivating and profoundly affecting.' Sunday Times bestseller, MIRANDA DICKENSON

'Enter the dance of this little masterpiece and let yourself be dazzled. Assured of hitting the bestseller lists' THE PARISIAN

____________________

AN AMAZON PRIME ORIGINAL FILM STARRING MÉLANIE LAURENT

[Victoria Mas's]... portrait of women who were unfairly banished to asylums often because they did not fit into the straightjacket of 19th-century society is moving... beautifully drawn.THE MAD WOMEN'S BALL is a darkly sumptuous tale of wicked spectacle, wild injustice and the insuppressible strength of women. Mas brings the world of La Salpêtrière to life with passion and fury, unveiling a hypnotic theatre that is as moving as it is macabre.[An] essential story of women resisting the unjust exertion of male power.In this darkly delightful Gothic treasure, Mas explores grief, trauma and sisterhood behind the walls of Paris' infamous Salpetriere hospital.Elegantly written, Victoria Mas's slender, potent debut celebrates sisterhood, while also exposing the corrupt powers of the patriarchy at home and in the wider world. Enthralling and wonderfully imagined... written with terrific verve and sympathy.A deftly woven tale of hope and pain, judgement and redemption, cruelty and kindness. Utterly captivating and profoundly affecting, the story of The Salpêtrière lingers long in the mind after the stunning conclusion. I loved it.A beautifully written debut set in Paris in 1885, Victoria Mas' characters come to life within a sentence while her storytelling compels you to turn the page. I loved The Mad Women's Ball and have absolutely no doubt it will be one of my favourite novels of 2021.'Beautifully written and captures the world so well. A delight to read.'A gothic, feminist book ...so cinematic it is already being turned into a film...it evokes the Brontës, with its dormitories, its phials and its ghosts. But thematically, it is bang up to date. The Mad Women's Ball is as lush on the inside as it is on the outside! It's richly immersive, taking us right into the heart of nineteenth-century Paris. From Genevieve, Eugenie and the women of Salpêtrière we learn what it is that keeps women locked up - and the extraordinary ways in which they might escape.

'Enter the dance of this little masterpiece and let yourself be dazzled. Assured of hitting the bestseller lists'

A well-written historical novel... book groups will thoroughly engage with the plot and characters.

Product Details

Title: TheMad Women's Ball
Author: Victoria MasFrank Wynne
SKU: BK0469072
EAN: 9781529176773

About Author

The Mad Women's Ball is Victoria Mas's debut novel. It has won several prizes in France (including the Prix Stanislas and Prix Renaudot des Lycéens) and was the bestselling debut of the year. Victoria has worked in film in the United States, where she lived for eight years. She graduated from the Sorbonne in Contemporary Literature.The Mad Women's Ball is now an Amazon Prime Video Original Film starring Mélanie Laurent and Lou de Louâge.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed