There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheMisunderstandings of Charity Brown

₹ 450

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Elizabeth's writing is beautifully accessible, her characters are vivid and authentic. I loved Ch... Read More

Product Description

Elizabeth's writing is beautifully accessible, her characters are vivid and authentic. I loved Charity's voice; as I reader, I felt very close to her, experiencing the big changes in her life, and in herself, as she grows and learns more about the world outside her religious family. It's beautifully done.The Misunderstandings of Charity Brown surprised and fascinated and delighted me, evoking so completely such a recently vanished world. I loved so many things about it: the family setting, the welcoming multicultural house and the growing up of Charity from ill child to funny, confident young person.This family story is unusual and a delight to read – funny, caring, warm, and unerringly in touch with the anguish of adolescence.a total pleasure, written with affection as well as art and never for a moment outstaying its welcome. Now something of a veteran children’s author herself, Elizabeth Laird has once again come up with something truly rather special.Enthrallingly told, it is a coming-of-age story about discovering your own values and making your own choices.Based on Elizabeth Laird's own childhood growing up in post-war Britain, The Misunderstandings of Charity Brown is a warm, witty and beautiful coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of The Skylarks' War and I Capture the Castle.

Inspired by award-winning author's Elizabeth Laird's own childhood growing up in post-war London, The Misunderstandings of Charity Brown is a classic coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of The Skylarks' War and I Capture the Castle.

Charity Brown’s life is about to change – her family have been left a huge, rambling house by a mysterious benefactor, and her parents want to move in and throw open its doors to the needy.

Only recently back from hospital after months of isolation with polio, Charity is over-protected and lonely as the only child still at home. Her family are very religious – her sisters are called Faith and Hope, and her brother Ted is studying to be a preacher – so she's both excited and nervous at the thought of sharing her family and new home with strangers.

It’s a recipe for confusion, joy and endless misunderstandings, including with the new neighbours, an Austrian family with a daughter just Charity’s age . . .

Elizabeth Laird is the multi-award-winning author of several much-loved children's books, including The Garbage King, The Prince Who Walked with Lions, The Fastest Boy in the World, and The Misunderstandings of Charity Brown. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious CILIP Carnegie Medal six times and her novel based on time spent in refugee camps in Jordan, Welcome to Nowhere, was the winner of the UKLA Award. She lives in Britain now, but still likes to travel as much as she can.

Product Details

Title: TheMisunderstandings of Charity Brown
Author: Elizabeth Laird
SKU: BK0462946
EAN: 9781529075649
Binding: Paperback

About Author

Elizabeth Laird is the multi-award-winning author of several much-loved children's books including The Garbage King, The Fastest Boy in the World and Dindy and the Elephant. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Carnegie Medal six times. She lives in Britain now, but still likes to travel as much as she can.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed