There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

TheSpace We're In

₹ 199

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Katya Balen is a phenomenally talented young debut author writing on a topic close to her heart. ... Read More

Product Description

Katya Balen is a phenomenally talented young debut author writing on a topic close to her heart. Her writing will blow you awayKatya has worked extensively with children and adults with special needs, and her experience and sensitivity on this topic shines through in her writingFans of David Almond, Lisa Thompson and R.J. Palacio will love this moving middle-grade debutKatya Balen is an award-winning author of books for children. Katya's debut novel, The Space We're In, was published in 2019 and was highly commended for the Branford Boase Award. Her second, October, October, won the Yoto Carnegie Medal. Her third novel, The Light in Everything, was published in 2022. When she's not writing books, Katya likes to scroll through dog-rescue websites, bake, and attempt to keep all her house plants alive. She lives in London with her partner and their dogs Raffi and Mouse. Laura Carlin is an illustrator and ceramicist based in London. She has won numerous awards for her children's books, including a BolognaRagazzi Award and a V&A Book Illustration Award. Her favourite things to draw are dogs and sad people._______________ 'A brave and beautiful book with a big heart. I loved it' - Jenny Downham 'A tear-jerker about family that shows us things that are important and true, and promotes compassion' - Nicolette Jones, Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week _______________ FROM THE WINNER OF THE YOTO CARNEGIE MEDAL 2022 We are her world and her universe and her space and her stars and her sky and her galaxy and her cosmos too. Frank is ten. He likes cottage pie and football and cracking codes. Max is five. He eats only Quavers and some colours are too bright for him and if he has to wear a new T-shirt he melts down down down. Sometimes Frank wishes Mum could still do huge paintings of stars and asteroids like she used to, but since Max was born she just doesn't have time. When tragedy hits Frank and Max's lives like a comet, can Frank piece together a universe in which he and Max aren't light years apart? This jaw-dropping, heartbreaking and hopeful novel from Katya Balen will remind you we are all made of stardust. For fans of thought-provoking, moving middle grade from Wonder to Skellig. _______________ 'Sensitive, heartbreaking ... a wonderful narrative voice' - Guardian 'A moving, absorbing novel about a pair of brothers - one is autistic, one is not, and I came to love both of them' - Joanne Limburg, author of The Autistic Alice 'Invigorating, enlightening and exciting' - James Sinclair, Autistic & Unapologetic _______________This jaw-dropping, heartbreaking and hopeful novel from debut author Katya Balen will remind you we are all made of stardust. For fans of thought-provoking, moving middle grade from Wonder to SkelligA tear-jerker about family that shows us things that are important and true, and promotes compassion.The struggles of those with autism and those who love them in a book with an achingly huggable main characterThis sensitive, heartbreaking story boasts a wonderful narrative voice and secret codes that add another layer of intrigueA brave and beautiful book with a big heart. I loved it.This is a moving, absorbing novel about a pair of brothers - one is autistic, one is not, and I came to love both of themWhat Balen captures in Frank's voice is the authentic experience of being ten and facing up to all the difficulties that brings. His story, and that of his family, will live long in the hearts and minds of its readersInvigorating, enlightening and exciting are the only words that describe the opening chapters of The Space We're In, as 10-year-old wild boy Frank and his (yep, you guessed it) autistic brother, Max, prepare for their first day back to schoolA truly extraordinary book ... It packs a pretty powerful punch but is a beautifully written and ultimately uplifting story with stunning artwork. Warning: you will need tissuesLaura Carlin's monochrome illustrations combine artistic skill with a childlike element that complements the textStunningly beautiful, I cried and smiled my way through this book in turns [.] Katya Balen has captured the sense of wanting to be grown up, but still being a child perfectly.Now and then, and only now and then, a book changes us. The Space We're In does that. It's ferocious and it's visionary.A beautiful book

Product Details

Title: TheSpace We're In
Author: Katya BalenLaura Carlin
SKU: BK0430536
EAN: 9781526601971

About Author

Katya Balen studied English at university. She is now a writer and is co-director of Mainspring Arts. Her debut novel, The Space We're In, was highly commended for the Branford Boase Award 2020. Her second book, October, October, published to critical acclaim in the same year and is the winner of the Yoto Carnegie Medal 2022. Her third book, The Light in Everything, was published in 2022. When she's not writing books or planning projects, she likes to scroll through dog-rescue websites, bake and attempt to keep all her house plants alive. She lives in London with her partner and their dogs Raffi and Mouse.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed