There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

TheWall

₹ 399

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

'Imagine a horizon.''I can't.' Mithila's world is bound by a Wall enclosing the city of Sumer -- ... Read More

Product Description


'Imagine a horizon.'

'I can't.'

Mithila's world is bound by a Wall enclosing the city of Sumer -- nobody goes out, nothing comes in. The days pass as they have for two thousand years: just enough to eat for just enough people, living by the rules. Within the city, everyone knows their place.

But when Mithila tries to cross the Wall, every power in Sumer comes together to stop her.

To break the rules is to risk all of civilization collapsing. But to follow them is to never know: who built the Wall? Why? And what would the world look like if it didn't exist? As Mithila and her friends search for the truth, they must risk losing their families, the ones they love, and even their lives.

Is a world they can't imagine worth the only world they have?

For fans of Isaac Asimov's Nightfall and Ursula Le Guin's The Dispossessed comes an astonishingly powerful voice in speculative fiction that explores what it means to truly be free.

Shortlisted for the Valley of Words best English-language novel award, long-listed for the Locus Magazine Award for Best Debut Novel, and longlisted for the Astounding Award for Best New Writer.

"A deeply intelligent and thoughtful intellectual adventure that raises some fundamental questions in a strikingly original and provocative way." - Gary K. Wolfe, Locus Magazine

"A significant Indian debut in science fiction on the theme of freedom." - Pratap Bhanu Mehta, Open Magazine

"An exciting new direction for Indian sci-fi." - The Hindu

"A fast-paced, gripping read, it is an important addition to Indian and world speculative fiction." - The Hindustan Times

"By rebuking static, formulaic utopias in favour of dynamic, complex societies, The Wall asserts itself a descendant of Ursula K. Le Guin's The Dispossessed ... an unforgettable story and a fantastic addition to contemporary Indian (English) SFF." - Strange Horizons

"It would be hard to put the book aside, even for a bit, for the last part. The Wall comes across as a deeply imagined, stylish and confident debut of an author who has introduced one new world to us, and will hopefully introduce many more." - The Wire

"The novel pulls in readers with its thoughtful and detailed world-building." - Scroll

Product Details

Title: TheWall
Author: Gautam Bhatia
SKU: BK0442804
EAN: 9789353578350
Language: English

About Author

Gautam Bhatia is a science-fiction writer, reviewer, and aneditor of the award-winning Strange Horizons magazine. The Wall, his firstnovel, was critically acclaimed in places such as Locus, Interzone and TheHindu, and was shortlisted for the 2020 Valley of Words Award in the Englishfiction category. The Horizon is the sequel to The Wall.


Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed