There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

When the Siren Wailed

₹ 399

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

A thrilling and moving adventure story about evacuees in World War Two, perfect for readers of Go... Read More

Product Description

A thrilling and moving adventure story about evacuees in World War Two, perfect for readers of Goodnight Mister Tom

'A compelling heart-warming story about three children in the Second World War - I loved it.' Jacqueline Wilson

When war breaks out in September 1939, Laura, Andy and Tim Clark are evacuated to the countryside. The Colonel's comfortable home in Dorset is a huge contrast to their cramped terraced house in London, where their loving parents struggle to put the next meal on the table. Though unused to having children around, the Colonel proves to be a kind and generous, if gruff, guardian until a terrible turn of events means the kids must move on. When they discover they are to live with Miss Justworthy, who is rumoured to feed her evacuees on cat food, Andy insists they can't risk staying. He persuades his sensible older sister and their little brother that they must run away, back to London and their mum.

The children are shocked to see London now pitted with craters and ruined buildings. And no sooner have they stepped off the train than the skies are lit by searchlights and filled with the crack of bombs and the glow of fires. How will they be able to find their mum in the middle of an air raid?

A brilliantly page-turning read from the author of Ballet Shoes, based on her own real-life experience in the Second World War. Perfect for any child interested in wartime and classic adventure stories.

A thrilling and moving adventure story about evacuees in World War Two, perfect for readers of Goodnight Mister TomA compelling heart-warming story about three children in the Second World War - I loved it.

Product Details

Title: When the Siren Wailed
Author: Noel Streatfeild
SKU: BK0456060
EAN: 9781510109902
Language: English
Binding: Paperback

About Author

Noel Streatfeild (1895-1986) was born in Amberley, Sussex. Her father was Bishop of Lewes and her great-grandmother was the prison reformer, Elizabeth Fry. She was a mischievous child, often in trouble at home. While growing up, she and her sisters put on plays for parish causes and, after making munitions during World War I, she trained as an actress. Noel Streatfeild started by writing books for adults. Her first and best-loved children's book, BALLET SHOES, was published in 1936. She won the prestigious Carnegie Medal for children's literature in 1939. When World War II broke out, she worked in canteens for the armed forces and for those injured by bombs. She wrote over 80 books in her lifetime and lived in London till her death.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed