There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🪄 15% on Harry Potter collection

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

Are You Enjoying?

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Fresh, provocative stories on the theme of desire and family for readers of Avni Doshi, Ravel Lei... Read More

Product Description

Fresh, provocative stories on the theme of desire and family for readers of Avni Doshi, Ravel Leilani, and Lisa Taddeo.Recommended reading in Vogue US and Refinery29.Mira Sethi is an actor and a writer. She grew up in Lahore and attended Wellesley College, after which Sethi worked as a books editor at The Wall Street Journal. She has written op-ed pieces for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Guardian. Sethi regularly appears in mainstream Pakistani television series. She lives in Lahore, Karachi, and San Francisco.'Are You Enjoying?' is emotional, equally hilarious, and gutting. I couldn't put this book down because I'd been welcomed into the most intimate parts of these characters' lives' Rupi Kaur 'Fresh, intelligent, and bold: Mira Sethi's stories open up fascinating slices of contemporary life in Pakistan' Mohsin Hamid 'Complex, delicate stories, alert both to the comic and the tragic. And while they focus on characters changing in a changing society, there is a timelessness about Sethi's work that I think comes from her precise observations that a reader will remember like lines of poetry, for their beauty' Kiran Desai Childhood best friends decide to marry in order to keep their sexuality a secret. A young heiress embarks on a secret affair, ending in devastation but not for the party who was braced for it. A glum divorcee reaches out to his American neighbour. A radicalised student's preparations for his sister's wedding in Lahore involve beating up the groom. An actress from a sheltered background in Karachi is forced to grow up fast on the set of her first major TV show where the real intrigue takes place off-screen. From one of Pakistan's most exciting young writers comes an exhilarating, audacious debut story collection; upending traditional notions of identity, scrutinising the relationship between power and desire, and fizzing with energy and wit.An exhilarating debut by a writer from Pakistan: provocative, funny, disarmingly original stories that upend traditional notions of identity, dissect the dynamics of desire and fizz with energy and wit. Fresh, intelligent, and bold: Mira Sethi's stories open up fascinating slices of contemporary life in PakistanAre You Enjoying? is emotional, equally hilarious and gutting. I couldn't put this book down because I'd been welcomed into the most intimate parts of these characters' lives.These are complex, delicate stories, alert both to the comic and the tragic. And while they focus on characters changing in a changing society, there is a timelessness about Sethi's work that I think comes from her precise observations that a reader will remember like lines of poetry, for their beauty.Best new books to read in 202150 Best New Books to Read in 2021In Sethi's striking debut collection, strong women face myriad challenges.

Product Details

Title: Are You Enjoying?
Author: Mira Sethi
SKU: BK0457139
EAN: 9781408895054

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed