There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises

₹ 599

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's W... Read More

Product Description

A must-read for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Heartbreaking and hilarious in equal measure, the new novel by the author of the internationally bestselling phenomenon A Man Called Ove will charm and delight anyone who has ever had a grandmother. Everyone remembers the smell of their grandmother's house.

Everyone remembers the stories their grandmother told them.

But does everyone remember their grandmother flirting with policemen? Driving illegally?
Breaking into a zoo in the middle of the night? Firing a paintball gun from a balcony in her dressing gown?

Seven-year-old Elsa does.

Some might call Elsa's granny 'eccentric', or even 'crazy'. Elsa calls her a superhero. And granny's stories, of knights and princesses and dragons and castles, are her superpower. Because, as Elsa is starting to learn, heroes and villains don't always exist in imaginary kingdoms; they could live just down the hallway.

As Christmas draws near, even the best superhero grandmothers may have one or two things they'd like to apologise for. And, in the process, Elsa can have some breath-taking adventures of her own . . .

The hilarious, heart-breaking new novel by the author of the international bestseller A MAN CALLED OVE.There are clear themes here, nominally: the importance of stories; the honesty of children; and the obtuseness of most adults, putting him firmly in league with the likes of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman. A touching, sometimes funny, often wise portrait of grief.The author's lightness of touch is definitely a contributor towards the novel's success. (It's already a best seller in his native country.) Fredrik conveys much in a few words . . . However a special warning to the ladies summed up in three words: wear waterproof mascara! I read the last few chapters verging between heart-glowing smiles and heart-wrenching sobs. I'll be ready for it the next few times I read it though and, indeed, the times after that.Told with the same comic accuracy and beating heart as [OVE] . . . It is a story about life and death and one of the most important human rights: the right to be different.A highly compelling read and it was easy to lose myself in the story

Product Details

Title: My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises
Author: Fredrik BackmanHenning Koch
SKU: BK0454601
EAN: 9781473626843
Language: English

About Author

Fredrik Backman made his literary debut in 2012 with the global sensation A Man Called Ove. He has written seven highly acclaimed novels, including My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises and Britt-Marie Was Here;
two heartfelt novellas about life and love; and one non-fiction book about parenthood. His books have sold more than 18 million copies in 46 languages. The Swedish-language film adaptation of A Man Called Ove was nominated for two Academy Awards, and more recently the book was adapted into a major motion picture starring Tom Hanks.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed