There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

🎒 ✏️ 15% off Back to School Sale

15% off on Top 50 Books 📚

🚚 Free Shipping on orders above Rs.500

Overwhelmed

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Impassioned and ultimately optimistic, Overwhelmed is a book about how to change things for the ... Read More

Product Description

Impassioned and ultimately optimistic, Overwhelmed is a book about how to change things for the betterThe perfect Mother's day present for any mother feeling a little less than practically perfect in every way, this is also the ideal book for fans of Caitlin Moran, Kat Banyard and Amy Chua - as well as Elizabeth GilbertThe success of Caitlin Moran's How to Be a Woman shows that there is a huge market for funny, honest books about modern women's lives. Schulte's blend of memoir and journalism, of fact and opinion is perfect for this market - and there are hundreds of thousands of women who can relate to her experiencesAcquired in a huge auction in the US by Farrar, Straus and Giroux, Overwhelmed will cause a big splash when it is published in the StatesBrigid Schulte is an award-winning journalist for the Washington Post and the Washington Post Magazine. Born and raised in Portland, Oregon, she has won numerous writing awards, including the Pulitzer Prize. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia, with her two children, Liam and Tessa, and her husband, Tom Bowman, Pentagon correspondent for National Public Radio. brigidschulte.com @BrigidSchulteIn her attempts to juggle work and family life, Brigid Schulte has baked cakes until 2 a.m., frantically (but surreptitiously) sent important emails during school trips and then worked long into the night after her children were in bed. Realising she had become someone who constantly burst in late, trailing shoes and schoolbooks and biscuit crumbs, she began to question, like so many of us, whether it is possible to be anything you want to be, have a family and still have time to breathe. So when Schulte met an eminent sociologist who studies time and he told her she enjoyed thirty hours of leisure each week, she thought her head was going to pop off. What followed was a trip down the rabbit hole of busy-ness, a journey to discover why so many of us ?nd it near-impossible to press the 'pause' button on life and what got us here in the ?rst place. Overwhelmed maps the individual, historical, biological and societal stresses that have ripped working mothers' and fathers' leisure to shreds, and asks how it might be possible for us to put the pieces back together. Seeking insights, answers and inspiration, Schulte explores everything from the wiring of the brain and why workplaces are becoming increasingly demanding, to worldwide differences in family policy, how cultural norms shape our experiences at work, our unequal division of labour at home and why it's so hard for everyone - but women especially - to feel they deserve an elusive moment of peace.Overwhelmed is a map of the stresses - individual, historical, biological and societal - that have ripped working mothers' leisure to shreds, and a quest for how it might be possible for them to put the pieces back togetherEvery parent, every caregiver, every person who feels besieged by permanent busyness, must read this bookWhy is life so insanely busy? What happened to "leisure" time? Tired of the modern hamster wheel, Brigid Schulte set out to find a better way to live. Overwhelmed is a passionate, funny, very human bookFeatures the author's personal search for balance alongside her advice for busy womenStartling ... May well do for time-poor workers that Lean In has done for guilt-ridden working mumsThe very real and sometimes moving book is a masterly combination of social observation, interview, statistics and riveting human stories. Schulte's honesty is appealingThought-provoking ... Brigid Schulte takes to takes our headlong descent into multi-tasking madnessShe says we turn leisure into work, thinking we are lazy if we're not 'doing something'. I couldn't agree moreEngaging . by turns a pop science explainer, self-help guide and subtle feminist polemic - aims to discover why some of us feel there simply aren't enough hours in the day ... This book's strength is mixing research and anecdote in a lively, accessible way, with a reporter's eye for detailIn one of the best sections of the book, Ms. Schulte interviews Pat Buchanan, the man who more than anyone else destroyed the prospect of a high-quality universal child care system in the United StatesBrigid Schulte writes directly of her own cubicle experience, and it is not prettyToo much to do? Stop and read thisFor a fresh take on an eternal dilemma, Overwhelmed is worth a few hours of any busy woman's life - if only to ensure that she doesn't drop off the bottom of her own "To Do" list *****Not only captures the conundrum so many people face but also offers some practical solutions. It's not a self-help book per se, but I found many of the anecdotes and stories personally instructiveOverwhelmed is a map of the stresses - individual, historical, biological and societal - that have ripped working mothers' leisure to shreds, and a quest for how it might be possible for them to put the pieces back together

Product Details

Title: Overwhelmed
Author: Brigid Schulte
SKU: BK0427957
EAN: 9781408859216

About Author

Brigid Schulte is an award-winning journalist for the Washington Post. She is also a fellow at the New America Foundation. In her career, she has written about, among other subjects, politics, culture, the military, science, the environment, work-life issues and poverty. She was part of the team that won the 2008 Pulitzer Prize. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia, with her husband, Tom Bowman, military affairs correspondent for National Public Radio, and their two children, Liam and Tessa. @BrigidSchulte

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed