You have no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on All Products!

TheBombs That Brought Us Together

₹ 399

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Powerful new novel from the Carnegie shortlisted author of When Mr Dog BitesControversial story a... Read More

Product Description

Powerful new novel from the Carnegie shortlisted author of When Mr Dog BitesControversial story about friendship, trust and nationalism in a fictional countryPacked with talking points and powerful moral questions - what would you do to keep your family safe?Brian Conaghan was born and raised in the Scottish town of Coatbridge but now lives in Dublin. He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow. For many years Brian worked as a teacher and taught in Scotland, Italy and Ireland. His novels include The Boy Who Made it Rain, When Mr Dog Bites, which was shortlisted for the 2015 Carnegie Medal, and The Bombs That Brought Us Together, published in 2016 to critical acclaim.WINNER OF THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD 2016 Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes for ever. Sometimes, to keep the people you love safe, you have to do bad things. As Little Town's rules crumble, Charlie is sucked into a dangerous game. There's a gun, and a bad man, and his closest friend, and his dearest enemy. Charlie Law wants to keep everyone happy, even if it kills him. And maybe it will ... Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness, John Boyne and Malorie Blackman.A powerful, warm, funny and moving novel from the author of When Mr Dog Bites. The story of two friends, one shed, a war and a terrible choice. Perfect for readers of John Boyne, Patrick Ness and Malorie BlackmanA dark, powerful tale of survival, morality and loyaltyA clever, entertaining and engaging piece of writing ... very carefully composed and gradually seducing its readers with its sense of fun, detail and, as appropriate, seriousness.The Bombs That Brought Us Together has all the warmth and humour of Mr Dog whilst also dealing with some pretty heavyweight issues, including immigration and cultural identity . PhenomenalI loved When Mr Dog Bites and have been wondering what he would do next. And it's utterly different. But equally remarkable .In this novel Brian Conaghan shows us that he is absolute master at creating believable, funny, brave and vulnerable young male charactersThis accomplished new novel establishes him as a major talent. It's incredibly powerful and thought-provoking on big issues such as nationalism, war and refugees, and poses some challenging moral questions. It's also brilliantly funny with characters that you will really root for.

Product Details

Title: TheBombs That Brought Us Together
Author: Brian Conaghan
SKU: BK0430555
EAN: 9781408855768

About Author

Brian Conaghan lives and works in the Scottish town of Coatbridge. He has a Master of Letters in Creative Writing from the University of Glasgow, and worked as a teacher for many years. His novel When Mr Dog Bites was shortlisted for the 2015 CILIP Carnegie Medal. The Bombs That Brought Us Together won the 2016 Costa Children's Book Award, The Weight of a Thousand Feathers won the 2018 Irish Book Award for Teen/YA Book of the Year, and We Come Apart, a verse novel co-authored with Carnegie Medal-winner Sarah Crossan, won the 2018 UKLA Book Award. Cardboard Cowboys, Brian's first middle-grade novel, published in 2021 and is full of his trademark heart, humour and crackling dialogue. Swimming on the Moon is his second middle-grade novel. @ConaghanAuthor

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed