There are no items in your cart

Enjoy Free Shipping on orders above Rs.300.

TheHistory of Love

₹ 499

(Inclusive of all taxes)
  • Free shipping on all products.

  • Usually ships in 1 day

  • Free Gift Wrapping on request

Description

Selected for Richard & Judy's BookclubA major paperback for Penguin in 2006, with a stunning ... Read More

Product Description

Selected for Richard & Judy's BookclubA major paperback for Penguin in 2006, with a stunning new jacketFor fans of Michael Cunningham, Paul Auster and Annie Proulx'Charming, tender and wholly original' J.M. Coetzee'This is a wonderful novel, erupting with life . . . building to a perfect, heartbreaking end' Daily Mail'This is undoubtedly the work of a formidably talented novelist' Independent'Vertiginously exciting . . . vibrantly imagined' New York Times'Outstanding' Telegraph 'Astonishing' ScotsmanFilm rights bought by Warner Bros at massive auctionHardback was picked for Radio 4 Book at BedtimeNicole Krauss was born in New York in 1974. Her first novel Man Walks into a Room, to be published by Penguin in 2006, was shortlisted for the LA Times Book Award. She lives in Brooklyn.

Shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction 2006 and winner of the 2006 Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger, The History of Love by bestselling author Nicole Krauss explores the lasting power of the written word and the lasting power of love.

'When I was born my mother named me after every girl in a book my father gave her called The History of Love. . . '

Fourteen-year-old Alma Singer is trying to find a cure for her mother's loneliness. Believing she might discover it in an old book her mother is lovingly translating, she sets out in search of its author.

Across New York an old man called Leo Gursky is trying to survive a little bit longer. He spends his days dreaming of the love lost that sixty years ago in Poland inspired him to write a book. And although he doesn't know it yet, that book also survived: crossing oceans and generations, and changing lives. . .

'Wonderfully affecting...brilliant, touching and remarkably poised' Sunday Telegraph

'A tender tribute to human valiance. Who could be unmoved by a cast of characters whose daily battles are etched on out mind in such diamond-cut prose?' Independent on Sunday

'Devastating...one of the most passionate vindications of the written word in recent fiction. It takes one's breath away' Spectator

Nicole Krauss is an American bestselling author who has received international critical acclaim for her first three novels: Great House (shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction 2011), The History of Love and Man Walks into a Room (shortlisted for the LA Times Book Award), all of which are available in Penguin paperback.

Product Details

Title: TheHistory of Love
Author: Nicole Krauss
SKU: BK0447207
EAN: 9780141019970
Language: English

About Author

Nicole Krauss was born in New York in 1974. Her first novel Man Walks into a Room, to be published by Penguin in 2006, was shortlisted for the LA Times Book Award. She lives in Brooklyn.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)

Recently viewed